Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Coffee Mead

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-20-2008, 02:55 AM   #1
BigStone777
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Coffee Mead

Before I started brewing (just several weeks ago), i asked a friend if one could make anything by fermenting coffee or coffee beans... he said there really isn't anything fermentable in coffee.
Well, now that i have been reading on this stuff, could one make mead using coffee instead of water? Or what would happen if one added a few cups of coffee beans to second fermentation?

There is actually a way to make coffee, called 'cold brewing'. that is, you put coffee beans in a bottle of water, and put it in the fridge for a long time. The flavor eventually comes out, without even heating the water or grinding the beans...

Another reason not to boil honey when making mead: Honey which comes from local bees carries pollen and pathogens relevant to your area. Consuming these natural medicines will boost your resistance to local pollens and other allergens. Boiling destroys them.
If all else fails, just drink more mead anyway...

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2008, 10:37 AM   #2
summersolstice
Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 16 Posts

I made a German Chocolate coffee mead a few months ago doing just that. As you said, I cold brewed some crushed flavored coffee beans and made mead with the diluted coffee. It's only 6-8 months old and I haven't tried it yet. It had a very nice aroma when it was bottled though.

Last edited by summersolstice; 10-20-2008 at 10:49 AM.

Old 10-20-2008, 11:40 AM   #3
BigStone777
Recipes 

Wow, that sounds good... Maybe I'll have to follow suit... that seems like an excellent choice for a year round drink...