Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Broke College Brewer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2011, 10:29 PM   #1
zacschmidt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Broke College Brewer

Hello everyone, I've been reading all threads on this form for quite a while and am interested in starting to brew mead. From what I've read, besides getting a good recipe and patience, mead seems fairly easy to brew.

However I am a broke college student and have just enough to cover bills and a basic starter kit for small batches doesn't come very cheap.

I'm looking for somewhere to get some equipment that is cheap or possible used but in good condition or home made equipment. If someone might be able to provide a few leads that would be awesome!

Or if someone on here like an experienced brewer had some old used equipment that they no longer use that they might like to sell for cheap or donate that would be really nice!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2011, 10:32 PM   #2
Spooner61
Recipes 

What college

Old 12-30-2011, 10:33 PM   #3
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 3160 Times on 1974 Posts
Likes Given: 2674

Craigslist. Maybe you should add your location to your profile - that experienced brewer might live next door.

Old 12-30-2011, 11:01 PM   #4
wailingguitar
Recipes 

Liked 93 Times on 81 Posts
Likes Given: 424

Since mead takes a lot of time to age, you could start small and then add the other pieces as you need them. For instance, you certainly wouldn't need bottling equipment right away... kettle, sanitizer, fermenter, airlock, yeast nutrient, yeast, honey will get you started.

Kettle; assuming you will boil the must. You can probably borrow one from someone.

Fermenter/airlock; $20-$25 at your local homebrew supplier. There are numerous online sources that will get you in the same ball park.