Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Bottling mead - Caps vs Corking mead - either method superior?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-11-2009, 12:27 AM   #1
WinsomeLass
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Bottling mead - Caps vs Corking mead - either method superior?

Hello!

As the post count will reveal I'm a mead noob [hello!] with luck, hoping to start one by the end of the month.

I have done some reading and searching but am not sure what to think about bottling. Is using either using caps or corks superior to the other?

I have a bottle cap press - free, working, and to hand. I wasn't sure if that would be OK for mead. Schramm discusses it in his book and it seems fine, but I was just wanting to ask the community.

When reading about capping/bottling spirits - do the same concepts that apply to beer apply to mead? Or are they two different animals and I should just concentrate on mead-only resources?

Thank you for any help/advice/leads/links, I do appreciate it!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2009, 02:32 AM   #2
hightest
Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 6 Posts

I'm not sure if there is a superior method. I've used crown caps, corks, Champagne, and filp-tops. I tend to use Champagne, caps, & flip-tops for carbonated mead, and corks for still mead.

Regardless of the bottling method, I've never had any problems...

Old 03-11-2009, 09:32 PM   #3
DragonTail

Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 21

I've capped and corked my meads.
If I carbonate them, them I definitely cap them, I haven't tried the cork and cage thing yet.
My still meads get corked.
Some of every batch, a sixer, gets the 12oz capped deal, just in case they are great, and I want to enter them in a comp.

Michael Herrenbruck
Herrenbruck Brewery
L.C.Q. Racing

Old 03-12-2009, 05:05 AM   #4
WinsomeLass
Recipes