Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Bochet/Burnt Mead - My take

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2012, 11:31 PM   #1
Tiroux
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts

Default Bochet/Burnt Mead - My take

So, I discovered the Bochet recently. I found an old recipe in wrote in ancient French, which I studied a bit when I was studying French Litterature. Anyway, I took this recipe that comes from the 14th century, and created down my own interpretation of it.

Please tell me what you think!

Going for a 2.5 Gallons batch

-6.5 lbs of Buckwheat Honey
-Ginger, cardamone, nutmeg and cloves
-1/8 lb beech smoked barley (Rauch Malz) (my addition)
-1/8 lb oak smoked wheat (my addition)
Lalvin K1 yeast

Honey caramelization: Heat up a cast iron cauldron, pour the honey in it, and let it caramelize until it stops creating foam and until the color is dark brown/black. Add some water and let it simmer to dissolve everything. I think it's better to pour it warm in the fermentator before it begins to harden, then add the rest of water to mix it well.

Malt processing: I will use them as steeping grain in the appropriate amount of water, and add it to the mead must.

Spices: I will probably add a tiny bit of each directly in the honey when it simmmers. Then adjust in the secondary, if needed, by cold infusing spices for few days.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2012, 11:42 PM   #2
Matrix4b
Recipes 

Liked 29 Times on 26 Posts