Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Banana short mead

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-21-2012, 05:46 PM   #11
Matrix4b
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 29 Times on 26 Posts

Was hoping for 5%, so I'll be OK with 3%. It's a short mead... comparable to a beer, not a wine.
Fair enough. Usually, I see people cut back on the honey amount when they want a Hydromel.

COLOR="magenta"]I was thinking the 2 lbs boiled would offer lots of flavor because the flavor won't be fermented away. The two lbs unboiled is for mouth feel and color as much as flavor.[/COLOR][/INDENT]
The boiling should get some of the flavor and yes some will be fermented away. The unboiled may not contribute much flavor as the flavor needs to be extracted from the oils and it doesn't see much time to extract and integrate the flavors much.
Why will the mead be hot? Not saying it won't, I'm still learning. But some beers are fermented this quick and don't age much more.
Beer and Mead are actually very different. A quick ferment and no aging doesn't really give the mead time to have the sweetness come back. Many meads are actually very sweet but prior to aging they taste "Hot". This is due to the fusel alcohols and the fact that many times this type of alcohol needs to break down and integrate better. Hence my guess that it will be hot. Ofcourse the sweetness will cover it but it may have a harshness at the end. We shall see. I would LIKE my predictions to be proven wrong.
I want cloudy, that is the purpose of using the bananas and not just the juice. Hope we're both right.
Cool. The Cold Crashing will take some of the yeast out but it may be cloudy with a bit of yeast and other stuff. Typically I see clear mead. Something you may want to do if you plan on having this outside of the fridge for it to warm up is to hit it with some potasium sorbate to stabilze it. Otherwise the left over yeast in the solution may become active again.