Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Adding vanilla extract to mead??

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2012, 05:00 AM   #1
baker1234
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Adding vanilla extract to mead??

Hey guys,
Just wondering if this would be a good idea. I was thinking about making a new batch of mead with some great value (walmart brand) vanilla extract to make it more of a honey/vanilla mead. What do you guys think? Will it work? Will it have some vanilla flavor at the end??

Thanks for everyones help,

Baker

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2012, 05:12 AM   #2
Zbay
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 9

I don't see why it wont work but I'm not an expert about these things. I am doing a cherry vinnilla mead right now but my plan is to split a whole bean and put it in the secondary. I think I read that on storm the castle or another place like that. Well good luck on your project.
zbay

Old 03-12-2012, 05:40 AM   #3
MasterJeem
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I read on a message board months ago about the extract doing something that spoiled the batch, but I can't remember the entire context. I personally have been splitting the beans and tossing them in the secondaries. Can't go wrong with the real deal, right?

Old 03-12-2012, 06:11 AM   #4
Doomsday
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts

Many people have used extract.

I personally have yet to use it.
Have a blueberry vanilla going right now, used 2 whole beans split and scraped.

Go into the recipe section on mead and you will find plenty of recipes that use extract.

Old 03-12-2012, 06:27 AM   #5
bleme
Recipes 

Liked 273 Times on 203 Posts
Likes Given: 39