Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > 1st Mead Recipe Ideas

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2008, 07:02 AM   #1
Sun Devil
-
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Default 1st Mead Recipe Ideas

I've been brewing beer for a few years and recently decided to try making mead, mostly because of what I have read here and online. Being an AZ native, I purchased 11.75 lbs of orange blossom honey and a packet of D47 yeast.

I'd like to make a 3-4 gallon batch and then split it at secondary into 1 gallon fermenters. For one I'd like to keep as is to see how unspiced/flavored orange blossom honey turns out. The rest I am still trying to decide on.

My wife likes the peach flavored beer from 4 Peaks so I thought I might try one with peaches. See any reason why peaches and orange blossom honey might not work? How many peaches/lbs of peaches would work for a 1 gallon batch?

Any ideas for the other 1 or 2 batches? I'd like them all to be still meads with a siginicant % of alchohol.

One final question (for now), what is an ideal primary fement temp for this type of mead? My house (in AZ) is about 77-78 right now, I have a fridge with a temp controller where I ferment by beer that is usually around 67-68F that I can use. Which would be best, or does it matter?

Thanks, Sun Devil

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2008, 05:30 PM   #2
gratus fermentatio
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 984 Times on 643 Posts
Likes Given: 2757

Hi sundevil: I think a peach melomel would be tasty, though peaches take a long time to clear; Ken Schramm ("The Compleat Meadmaker") has a recipe for a tasty ginger/peach melomel that you might like. I made a variation of it with apricots & it was very good.
12lbs honey
3 gal water (water to make 5 gallons)
2 teaspoons yeast energizer
2 teaspoons yeast nutrient
2.5 teaspoons pectic enzyme