Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > HomeBrewTalk Forums > Introductions > Newbie in SF & Teaching Women to Brew!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-22-2012, 09:32 PM   #1
mamajack
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 4

Default Newbie in SF & Teaching Women to Brew!

Hi All,

I'm a former pro baker living in San Francisco and have been doing country (fruit) wines & meads since 2007 and just started brewing beer last year. I quickly came to love it - the community is so friendly & helpful and everyone so down to earth. I love the science too, and how it balances with art, just like serious baking!

I started immediately doing all-grain BIAB tabletop (because i already had some equipment & experience from wines), and now i am on my 5th batch or so. I've read Palmer's 'How To Brew' and i am now doing all my own calcs (pen & paper - i like to understand things before i have a computer do them & will probably write my own spreadsheet software to do calcs). Now I am reading Daniels' 'Designing Great Beers.' I work up my own recipes and am having a blast! These forums are hands down the best resource ever. I have found them so useful that i finally joined after lurking for a while.