Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > Vent needed for fermentation chamber?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2011, 04:51 PM   #1
greatschmaltez
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 303
Liked 14 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Vent needed for fermentation chamber?

I am looking at converting a standup freezer to a fermentation chamber, I was concerned about pressure building in the freezer as the fermentation took off. Obviously there will be a small crack in the door seal for the temperature controller wire. Is there any other modification I need to do to vent fermentation CO2 or is there simply not enough produced during fermentation to even be a concern?

Right now my materials of construction are:
1) Freezer
2) temperature controller

I'm assuming it's easy as that to get anywhere from mid 60s down to the lagering temps... Correct?

__________________
greatschmaltez is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2011, 05:02 PM   #2
RegionalChaos
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Drain, OR
Posts: 606
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

If the pressure built up to large levels it would probably just push the door open. Can't imagine it happening though.

__________________
How I brew: Stir plate starters, Extract, Full boil in a Keggle, 10 gallon batches.
Brewing upgrades in progress: temp controlled ferment, stir plate re-work, building mash tun, milling station

Planned House Ales: an Amber, an IPA, a dark IPA, a Mango Ale, a blueberry oatmeal stout, a dry Irish stout, a honey wheat, Apfelwien

What kind of R-Value does your ferm chamber need? - http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/what...hamber-190459/
RegionalChaos is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2011, 05:25 PM   #3
Gldnst8warrior
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Pittsburg CA, CA
Posts: 64
Default

I use an old refrigerator as my fermentation chamber and have no vents on it. I have had 3 carboys fermenting in it at the same time with no pressure issues. I think you should be fine.

__________________
Gldnst8warrior is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fermentation chamber multi chamber temp options ToastedPenguin Fermenters 8 07-25-2012 02:17 AM
Help w/ fermentation chamber 2morrow Fermenters 20 12-03-2010 09:13 PM
Tips needed for using a dis-assembeled mini fridge for fermentation chamber nasmeyer Fermenters 1 05-31-2010 04:15 AM
Probe help needed for fermentation chamber smellysell Fermenters 4 07-30-2009 07:19 PM
Fermentation Chamber nanoBrewer Fermenters 8 05-28-2009 04:08 AM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS