Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > Stc-1000 wiring
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-28-2012, 02:28 AM   #111
cwi
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin
Posts: 845
Liked 32 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Here is another DIY success story brought to you by yousudsymf:

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f35/oste...9/#post4050362

At least you are consistent- act first, ask questions later.

__________________
cwi is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-28-2012, 02:36 AM   #112
jeepinjeepin
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 6,392
Liked 1043 Times on 1022 Posts
Likes Given: 35

Default

Hey, cwi, we understand you are a dick. Go be a dick somewhere else.

__________________

Walmart is about the only reason for open or concealed carry that I can get behind. -Randar

jeepinjeepin is offline
Stauffbier Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2012, 04:34 PM   #113
imrook
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 136
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Thanks to everyone who contributed photos, diagrams and details to this thread. I finished my temperature controller box last night and I now have my first keg carbing in my keezer. Next project: make my first lager.

__________________
imrook is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2012, 03:35 AM   #114
stratmaster1029
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Saltsburg, Pennsylvania
Posts: 10
Likes Given: 2

Default Just finished my STC-1000 build

A couple pics of my STC-1000 build. So many great ideas on this site! I know I have seen neater wiring but mine works.

stc1000-1.jpg   img00056-20121202-1048.jpg   img00060-20121207-0940.jpg   stc4.jpg   stc1000-2.jpg  

__________________
stratmaster1029 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2013, 02:09 AM   #115
saxowam
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
saxowam's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 76
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default appropriate outlet

Just wondering if it is necessary to use such expensive outlets vs cheaper ones that have similar shape. For example I see a bunch of people using http://www.homedepot.com/buy/leviton...l#.UPYJuaHjl4U so would this be acceptable instead http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...8#.UPYLEqHjl4U ? Thanks in advance for any advice you all may have.

__________________
saxowam is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2013, 04:18 AM   #116
Leadpencil
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Leadpencil's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin
Posts: 173
Liked 26 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

I hardwired mine right into the freezer. I think that it's cleaner and more convenient.

__________________
Leadpencil is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2013, 03:01 AM   #117
saxowam
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
saxowam's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 76
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Success

Definitely went with the cheaper outlets to save about $10 a controller, especially when you buy the 10 pack. Needed 2 and a friend wanted one so much more cost effective. Thanks for the awesome wiring diagrams, super easy to follow and completed two boxes in less than 2 hours.

__________________

Primary: WIPA, Fig Quad, Winter Ale
Secondary: RIS on oak chips
Keg: Black Porter and then 6 sad empty kegs

saxowam is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2013, 01:06 AM   #118
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 7,982
Liked 433 Times on 353 Posts
Likes Given: 63

Default

So....I wired up one of these today, and the heating side works as expected, but I get no power for cooling. I have checked and re-checked the wiring for that path, even going so far as to completely rewire the entire path from the incoming power cord all the way through the controller and to that outlet, but still it doesn't work. My wife has moved my outlet tester and multimeter somewhere I can't find it and she's out shopping. Otherwise, I'd be able to tell you more details about where power is getting. However, the wiring on these things is pretty straightforward so I have to think that at least there is power getting to the "cooling" relay.

When the heating side turns on, there is an audible click from the relay, but I don't really get the same click for cooling, leading me to believe perhaps I have a faulty relay in my controller. Anyone else run into issues like this?

__________________
weirdboy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2013, 01:15 AM   #119
JuanMoore
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JuanMoore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The Old Pueblo
Posts: 17,159
Liked 3253 Times on 3153 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by weirdboy View Post
So....I wired up one of these today, and the heating side works as expected, but I get no power for cooling. I have checked and re-checked the wiring for that path, even going so far as to completely rewire the entire path from the incoming power cord all the way through the controller and to that outlet, but still it doesn't work. My wife has moved my outlet tester and multimeter somewhere I can't find it and she's out shopping. Otherwise, I'd be able to tell you more details about where power is getting. However, the wiring on these things is pretty straightforward so I have to think that at least there is power getting to the "cooling" relay.

When the heating side turns on, there is an audible click from the relay, but I don't really get the same click for cooling, leading me to believe perhaps I have a faulty relay in my controller. Anyone else run into issues like this?
Are you waiting for the compressor delay? Is the cooling light flashing? In case you didn't know, the cooling side has a compressor delay feature, which prevents the relay from switching if it's been on recently. This is to protect the compressor from short cycling. It activates when the unit is first plugged in also.

Edit: If the cooling light is blinking, it means that it's in compressor delay status. The factory setting for the compressor delay is 3 min IIRC, but you can change it under menu item F3. I suggest maxing it out at 10 min.
__________________
Keezer Soze

Yuri rubs it out with 60 grit... wouldn't even feel a tenga egg. -Randar

, place entry ox dixla to suck. Fcxk fwnpoo and passed. Hel an my spupid ass. OK. - TXCrash
JuanMoore is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2013, 01:20 AM   #120
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 7,982
Liked 433 Times on 353 Posts
Likes Given: 63

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JuanMoore View Post
Are you waiting for the compressor delay? In case you didn't know, the cooling side has a compressor delay feature, which prevents the relay from switching if it's been on recently. This is to protect the compressor from short cycling. It activates when the unit is first plugged in.
Ah, I didn't know that. How long is the delay?
__________________
weirdboy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools




Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS