Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > no output from STC-1000
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2011, 08:19 PM   #1
twd000
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tucson
Posts: 410
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default no output from STC-1000

I bought two 110V STC-1000 controllers off eBay for my side-by-side fridge conversion. I got them wired into a box and turned it on. The default values are left as-is, so there is a 3 minute compressor delay where the cooling light blinks. After the delay, I hear the relay snap, the red light stays on and...nothing. I get no power to the switched outlet I wired to Unit #1, nor the bare leads I wired to Unit #2. I tried plugging in various electrical devices, fans, etc just to see if it would run them (haven't plugged in fridge yet).

The directions and sticker on the controller say 11V supply, 220V output (wouldn't that be impossible?). But I opened the box and the Zettler magnetics sticker clearly lists 115V@60kHz AC.

So I'm confused. Should I expect my multimeter to read 100V across the output side once the red cooling light on on? I'm not getting any reading.

__________________
twd000 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2011, 08:21 PM   #2
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,236
Liked 86 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

It seems a common mistake for people to think that the two terminals on the relay (like, terminals 7 & 8 of the controller) act as a "power outlet", and they try to hook the hot and neutral lines of their fridge or heater to pins 7 & 8.

Is that what you did?

__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2011, 08:43 PM   #3
janivar123
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: porsgrunn norway, lol
Posts: 554
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

yep in other words the stc-1000 is one thermostat controller and 2 separate switches
7 and 8 is in and out...

__________________

Nothing too interesting yet
deamonale
A work in progress just like my beer

janivar123 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2011, 10:25 PM   #4
twd000
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tucson
Posts: 410
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walker View Post
It seems a common mistake for people to think that the two terminals on the relay (like, terminals 7 & 8 of the controller) act as a "power outlet", and they try to hook the hot and neutral lines of their fridge or heater to pins 7 & 8.

Is that what you did?
Yes, I hooked 7 to the white side of the power outlet, and 8 to the black side of the outlet. Is that not right? How should I be connecting it?
__________________
twd000 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2011, 10:28 PM   #5
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,420
Liked 54 Times on 51 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

You use the terminals to interrupt the hot side, black usually if you do things right.

__________________
samc is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2011, 10:53 PM   #6
twd000
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tucson
Posts: 410
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

OK, I found a wiring diagram that matches what you described - you have to talk real slow and use small words around us Mechanical Engineers ;-)

__________________
twd000 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2011, 02:56 AM   #7
cwi
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin
Posts: 845
Liked 32 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twd000 View Post
OK, I found a wiring diagram that matches what you described - you have to talk real slow and use small words around us Mechanical Engineers ;-)
I remember the special "Circuits for Non-believers" class they had for you guys.
Did your controller not have a stick figure drawing of a switch on the sticker above the terminals?
__________________
cwi is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2011, 03:57 AM   #8
twd000
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tucson
Posts: 410
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwi View Post
I remember the special "Circuits for Non-believers" class they had for you guys.
Did your controller not have a stick figure drawing of a switch on the sticker above the terminals?

yeah, in fact it did have a diagram. Same one you see here in the bottom right corner. http://www.rise.com.hk/ebayproducts/...oller_mini.pdf

Being an ME, I interpreted it literally like a plumbing diagram and hooked up A to B...
__________________
twd000 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2011, 04:35 AM   #9
cwi
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin
Posts: 845
Liked 32 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twd000 View Post
yeah, in fact it did have a diagram. Same one you see here in the bottom right corner. http://www.rise.com.hk/ebayproducts/...oller_mini.pdf

Being an ME, I interpreted it literally like a plumbing diagram and hooked up A to B...
So that's how the three stooges got the water to come out of the chandelier when the light switch was flipped. Always wondered about that.
__________________
cwi is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2011, 03:03 PM   #10
nutsok
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twd000 View Post
yeah, in fact it did have a diagram. Same one you see here in the bottom right corner. http://www.rise.com.hk/ebayproducts/...oller_mini.pdf

Being an ME, I interpreted it literally like a plumbing diagram and hooked up A to B...
I too did the same thing but I am not using or making a whole electrical box. Can you dumb this down for me even more. I'm only using this for cooling so I'm wiring it straight in. From my wall outlet, I have that power cable going to 1 and 2 of the controller. And I have 7 and 8 going to the freezer. (1 & 8 are hot, 2 & 7 are the nuetrals) Please tell me how to set this up.
__________________
nutsok is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone know a cheap PID with analog output? kshuler Chillers and Stir Plates 32 02-06-2011 05:30 AM
PID Relay output driving an SSR? onelegout Brew Stands 9 09-01-2010 04:57 PM
Nothing on the output side of my SSR???? Krelja Brew Stands 10 06-22-2010 02:40 PM
SSR Heat Output? RonRock Brew Stands 9 02-08-2010 04:35 PM
Should I move my MLT Output to the bottom? Eigenmusic Kettles, Mash Tuns, & Hot Liquor Tanks 1 09-24-2009 03:01 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS