Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > Hot Box idea

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2010, 03:44 PM   #1
Guntr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Hot Box idea

Here's my problem. We use a programmable thermostat to keep our house at 20 C (68 F) during the mornings, evenings, and weekends, and drop to 15 C (59 F) during the daytime when we're at work and at night. This just about cuts our heating bills in half. Since I started brewing again I temporarily upped the daytime/night temp to 18 C (64 F).

To save on heating I would really like to get this back down, and I would also like to set up my brewing in the basement which is usually a couple degrees cooler.

I was thinking about building an insulated box big enough for about a half dozen buckets & carboys and install some sort of heater and thermostat. Does anyone see a problem with using one of those heating light bulbs you see in some bathrooms? I believe they are in the lower infrared end of the spectrum so shouldn't harm the beer right?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2010, 04:11 PM   #2
ScubaSteve

Recipes 

Liked 68 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 11

They make heating pads that also work well. I think if you insulate the box well, you should have no problem getting 5F above ambient. Sounds crazy, but I bet you could find a non-functioning chest freezer for free and it would work fantastically. People are trying to get rid of them all the time.....not sure if Canada has Craigslist and Freecycle...but you could look around.

Old 01-18-2010, 04:47 PM   #3
Brewmoor
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 13

OOOHHHHHHHh that kind of hot box. My Bad. I was having flashbacks from college reading the title.