Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > Fermentation upright freezer
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2014, 09:19 PM   #1
instinct2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: west lafayette, in
Posts: 89
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default Fermentation upright freezer

Today was the big day of using our new fermentation freezer with a 12 gallon batch of Oktoberfest. Hooked up the Johnson control 419 last night and everything seemed to be working correctly. Loaded the carboys in this morning and closed the door. Went out three hours later to find the freezer not working. I unplugged the Johnson control and plugged the freezer straight to the wall and still the compressor won't turn on. The frigidaire 20.6 digital display still works, interior light works, but it's not giving a high temp reading and clicking the compressor on. Is the sensor inside the freezer bad? Did the Johnson control screw something up with electronic's of the freezer? Thoughts anyone? I threw the carboys in my keezer, until I get this figured out...


Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

__________________
instinct2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2014, 10:36 PM   #2
instinct2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: west lafayette, in
Posts: 89
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Could the Johnson control be hard wired to override the computer display and internal sensor? Have it run solely off the Johnson a419?


Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

__________________
instinct2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2014, 11:11 PM   #3
day_trippr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stow, MA
Posts: 11,239
Liked 1388 Times on 1120 Posts

Default

Hopefully the OP left the freezer plugged into a functional outlet sans A419 long enough to allow the freezer's anti-short-cycle delay to expire...

Cheers!

__________________
day_trippr is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2014, 11:14 PM   #4
MindenMan
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Carson City, Nv
Posts: 1,727
Liked 248 Times on 185 Posts
Likes Given: 39

Default

A compressor has three leads: common, run, and start.
The common ground, is usually White, the Black lead is usually the run or "hot" lead, and the start lead is usually Red. If you can sort out the wiring diagram, bypassing the built in controls, you should be good to go.

__________________
MindenMan is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2014, 12:59 AM   #5
instinct2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: west lafayette, in
Posts: 89
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by day_trippr View Post
Hopefully the OP left the freezer plugged into a functional outlet sans A419 long enough to allow the freezer's anti-short-cycle delay to expire...



Cheers!
I'm sorry but I don't understand what your saying... If I did whatever your stating how do I fix it?





Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew
__________________
instinct2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2014, 01:19 AM   #6
day_trippr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stow, MA
Posts: 11,239
Liked 1388 Times on 1120 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by instinct2 View Post
I'm sorry but I don't understand what your saying... If I did whatever your stating how do I fix it?
Many if not most compressor-equipped appliances have a device that prevents "short-cycling" the compressor. It's essentially a timer, often with a fixed 5 minute duration, that starts ticking when the compressor shuts off. Until those 5 minutes expire, even if the thermostat is calling for "cold", the compressor won't get power. So if you didn't give the freezer enough time before unplugging it you'd never know that it was/might actually be ok.

fwiw, nearly all of the external/add-on controllers (including the A-419) have the same function, usually adjustable...

Cheers!
__________________
day_trippr is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2014, 02:11 AM   #7
instinct2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: west lafayette, in
Posts: 89
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by day_trippr View Post
Many if not most compressor-equipped appliances have a device that prevents "short-cycling" the compressor. It's essentially a timer, often with a fixed 5 minute duration, that starts ticking when the compressor shuts off. Until those 5 minutes expire, even if the thermostat is calling for "cold", the compressor won't get power. So if you didn't give the freezer enough time before unplugging it you'd never know that it was/might actually be ok.



fwiw, nearly all of the external/add-on controllers (including the A-419) have the same function, usually adjustable...



Cheers!
Ok, but how go I reset this? I've unplugged it multiple times and plugged in without using the a419. Still nothing...





Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew
__________________
instinct2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2014, 02:23 AM   #8
day_trippr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stow, MA
Posts: 11,239
Liked 1388 Times on 1120 Posts

Default

There's no reset, you just leave the thing plugged in long enough to expire. So if you've left the freezer plugged in and turned on for more than 10 minutes I doubt that an ASD is what's keeping it from turning on. Unless that's the thing that died...

Cheers!

__________________
day_trippr is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2014, 02:40 AM   #9
instinct2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: west lafayette, in
Posts: 89
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Ok it's not that then...


Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

__________________
instinct2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2014, 09:51 PM   #10
instinct2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: west lafayette, in
Posts: 89
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default Fermentation upright freezer

Could I cut the thermistor off and wire the two wires directly together? Let the a419 control the coolness then?

Also how would I check to see if the capacitor is bad? Is there a chance that a419 blew the capacitor with turning the freezer on and off?


Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

__________________
instinct2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fermentation Chamber - Chest or Upright Freezer stvcoburn Fermentation & Yeast 16 04-09-2012 04:29 AM
Fermentation chamber from mini upright freezer bergman1118 Equipment/Sanitation 5 12-29-2011 02:57 PM
Upright Freezer Turned Fermentation Chamber reeyawd Fermenters 4 06-26-2011 06:51 AM
What kind of upright freezer to get for fermentation? SlyBrewer Fermentation & Yeast 7 09-08-2010 07:16 PM
Upright Freezer --> Fermentation Chamber homebeerbrewer Fermenters 3 07-28-2010 01:02 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS