Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > ebay aquarium temp controller build
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-22-2012, 08:34 PM   #2581
JuanMoore
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JuanMoore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The Old Pueblo
Posts: 16,955
Liked 3238 Times on 3139 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jholen View Post
website says "unable to connect to database"
That same unit has been selling on e-bay from many different sellers for a few years, and last I checked the prices were about the same as the one in the bad link.

Edit: Here's one for $16.78 shipped.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Digital-Temp...ht_3932wt_1396
__________________
Keezer Soze

Yuri rubs it out with 60 grit... wouldn't even feel a tenga egg. -Randar

, place entry ox dixla to suck. Fcxk fwnpoo and passed. Hel an my spupid ass. OK. - TXCrash
JuanMoore is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2012, 08:47 PM   #2582
marshallbertram
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: buffalo, NY
Posts: 9
Default

Sorry if this has already been discussed, but has anyone come across a temp controller with only 7 connections in the back? The wiring diagram has the second connection for the temperature probe and the first connection for Function Control on the same port - 4.

img_20120422_154050.jpg  
__________________
marshallbertram is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2012, 09:03 PM   #2583
JuanMoore
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JuanMoore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The Old Pueblo
Posts: 16,955
Liked 3238 Times on 3139 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marshallbertram View Post
Sorry if this has already been discussed, but has anyone come across a temp controller with only 7 connections in the back? The wiring diagram has the second connection for the temperature probe and the first connection for Function Control on the same port - 4.
Nope, but it looks like a lot like the single stage units I have. The "function control" is a fairly useless feature that enables you to "lock" the programmed settings in place so that they can't be changed. It looks like you'd run a jumper between 4&5 to do this.

Power to 1&2, temp sensor to 3&4, and 6&7 will be the two sides of your switch. Don't connect anything to terminal 5.
__________________
Keezer Soze

Yuri rubs it out with 60 grit... wouldn't even feel a tenga egg. -Randar

, place entry ox dixla to suck. Fcxk fwnpoo and passed. Hel an my spupid ass. OK. - TXCrash
JuanMoore is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2012, 09:58 PM   #2584
Esmitee
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Little Egg Harbor, At the Bay and Ocean, NJ
Posts: 510
Liked 20 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 55

Default

Hia, I've been using my STC 1000 dual controller for almost a year now. I just noticed a temp difference in readings from the STC 1000 to another digital t-meter I have attached to the carboy @ the same spot. The difference is like 3-4*. Quite a bit O difference, I'd say . Do you have to calibrate the STC 1000? If so, how do I do that?

__________________
Thank You in Advance for your Time and Info....!
Esmitee is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2012, 10:16 PM   #2585
opus345
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
opus345's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 676
Liked 170 Times on 127 Posts
Likes Given: 156

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingfish View Post
SINGLE stage FAHRENHEIT controller.... $16.40 free shipping
http://www.buyandfun.com/en/digital-...-ac-p9241.html
No afiliation with them. Someone on here ordered one a while back but they had changed their minimum quantity to 20 something. It is back down to ONE and a great price. This is the unit I bought from somewhere else.
Response in my browser = "Unable to connect to database server!"

Doesn't inspire much confidence in this site.
__________________
opus345 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2012, 10:52 PM   #2586
JuanMoore
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JuanMoore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The Old Pueblo
Posts: 16,955
Liked 3238 Times on 3139 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Esmitee View Post
Hia, I've been using my STC 1000 dual controller for almost a year now. I just noticed a temp difference in readings from the STC 1000 to another digital t-meter I have attached to the carboy @ the same spot. The difference is like 3-4*. Quite a bit O difference, I'd say . Do you have to calibrate the STC 1000? If so, how do I do that?
It's a good idea to at least check to see if the probe reading is accurate. Calibration is the F4 setting in the programming menu.

An ice water slurry is probably the best reference point for a keezer or ferm chamber. Crush up some ice, put it in a glass, and add just enough distilled water to create an ice slurry. Mix it up and wait a minute for the temperature of the slurry to stabilize. Put the probe in the slurry and let the temp reading stabilize. However far it is from 0°C is how much you need to adjust the F4 setting. If the probe is reading 0.3°C high, then you'll want to set F4 to -0.3.

Press and hold the "S" button for 3 seconds.
Press the "Down Arrow" until F4 displays.
Press and hold the "S" key and at the same time use the up and down arrows to adjust the setting.
Press the "Power" key to save the setting. If you do not press the power key, the setting will not be recorded.
__________________
Keezer Soze

Yuri rubs it out with 60 grit... wouldn't even feel a tenga egg. -Randar

, place entry ox dixla to suck. Fcxk fwnpoo and passed. Hel an my spupid ass. OK. - TXCrash
JuanMoore is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2012, 12:32 AM   #2587
marshallbertram
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: buffalo, NY
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks Juanmoore, just got the project box all wrapped up and it works! Only have to calibrate the thing now.

__________________
marshallbertram is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2012, 12:55 AM   #2588
Esmitee
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Little Egg Harbor, At the Bay and Ocean, NJ
Posts: 510
Liked 20 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 55

Default

Hey Juan, Well thank you for some good info. I've done many batches with it to date. It was just bugging me to know If 0, was really 0 LOL I will do the calibration as you say.

OHHHH That POWER key can get you everytime, "IF YA DON'T PRESS IT" heheheheh Thanks


__________________
Thank You in Advance for your Time and Info....!
Esmitee is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-30-2012, 11:57 AM   #2589
afbtstix
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 5
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default To all U.S. buyers

To all U.S. buyers, avoid ordering wrong voltage units by ordering from this Ebay store LEDLive.Here is a quote from the reply email that was sent just 5 hours after I emailed them to ask which one I had purchased.

Hi Andrew,Thanks for your purchase. We always send 110V version to the USA, so don't worry about that.Regards,Sara -elin.ou


Keep in mind its coming from overseas so expect up to 2 weeks to deliver but still a great seller!
__________________
afbtstix is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-30-2012, 08:32 PM   #2590
jmf143
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wixom, Michigan
Posts: 607
Liked 18 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default How's this wiring look?

I want to avoid using wire nuts so i bought a terminal strip. I'm only going to switch the cool receptacle, the other one will always be on. Is it ok for all the circuits to share a common neutral (Blue) wire?

schematic.jpg  
__________________
Vir sapit qui pauca loquitur
jmf143 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY temp controller build android Other 100 05-09-2013 02:14 PM
Control Fermentation temp with Aquarium Heater chemist308 General Techniques 20 12-15-2012 12:13 AM
question about "aquarium temperature controller" SamBrewer General Techniques 12 02-26-2011 07:30 PM
Attic Fan Temp Controller = Inexpensive Fermentation Controller???? Beernip General Techniques 5 06-16-2009 05:30 PM
Brutus Build Controller Box? gruversm Brew Stands 9 03-27-2009 04:54 AM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS