Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > DIY Networked Arduino Dual stage temp. controller w/ logging/graphing
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-15-2014, 05:43 AM   #41
maierhof
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 233
Liked 14 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timdsmith72 View Post
So I got the Arduino connected to its network shield. I also got an RGB LCD to display the Target Temp and the Actual Temp. I wrote some code to change the LCD backlight to Red, Green, or Blue based on whether the controller was Heating, Just right, or Cooling so that I could tell at a glance what the thing was doing...
...
More to come as I get time.
(Continued....)
genius build - looking forward to the bread crumbs manual for putting this together to follow along this trail...
I have installed php and mysql before when I stitched together my phpnuke site years ago.
Things have changed a bit since then I think... lol
Seriously though great ideas here... I love the color idea too its perfect for my sideXside in the garage through a glass door from my office seat.

FuzzeWuzze- I really flipped out over your idea too but was kicked in the gut at the end there - what a bummer they bailed. This seems like a great way to acheive everything we might want to do too - gawd I love opensource!
__________________
maierhof is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-15-2014, 03:29 PM   #42
BoulderBayBrewing
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 34
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

timdsmith72, Nice work! I've been looking for something that allows you to monitor and control temps for awhile. Looks like I'm going to have to try this!

A couple of questions for you, what size of enclosure did you use? Also I'm planning on powering a chest freezer with this, are the 10A relays enough? I believe that when the compressor starts up it can drawn more than 10 amps.

__________________
On Deck: Saison, Blonde Ale and Gluten-Free Ale
Primary:
Secondary:
Bottled/Conditioning:
Drinking:
BoulderBayBrewing is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-15-2014, 04:56 PM   #43
FuzzeWuzze
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
FuzzeWuzze's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 2,187
Liked 246 Times on 186 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoulderBayBrewing View Post
timdsmith72, Nice work! I've been looking for something that allows you to monitor and control temps for awhile. Looks like I'm going to have to try this!

A couple of questions for you, what size of enclosure did you use? Also I'm planning on powering a chest freezer with this, are the 10A relays enough? I believe that when the compressor starts up it can drawn more than 10 amps.
The stc1000 uses 10a relays, so it will be fine
FuzzeWuzze is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-15-2014, 05:03 PM   #44
timdsmith72
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
timdsmith72's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Carrollton, Texas
Posts: 357
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoulderBayBrewing View Post
timdsmith72, Nice work! I've been looking for something that allows you to monitor and control temps for awhile. Looks like I'm going to have to try this!

A couple of questions for you, what size of enclosure did you use? Also I'm planning on powering a chest freezer with this, are the 10A relays enough? I believe that when the compressor starts up it can drawn more than 10 amps.
The enclosure is roughly 8x5x3. It's not a Radio Shack enclosure, I got it from a little electronics shop. A radio shack enclosure of roughly the same size should work fine.

I use a chest freezer as well. The 10A relays will be fine.
As FuzzeWuzze says, the STC1000 uses 10A relays. I used one of those for a couple of years with no issues.
__________________
timdsmith72 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2014, 12:47 AM   #45
mrstevenund
Junior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 105
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

The original project is almost identical to what I started last winter, but didn't get it finished before a cross-country move. I'm still trying to put together the brewery.

I was using COSM (now Xively) for the logging. I'll may use some ov these ideas discussed here when I get back to it.

__________________
mrstevenund is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Stage Temp Controller Issues amikic Fermentation & Yeast 6 05-19-2013 02:13 AM
Temp Controller: Dual vs Single stage? seannymurrs Fermenters 6 12-10-2012 11:50 PM
Arduino+XBee Dual-stage Temp Controller Chuginator Fermenters 65 12-18-2011 09:44 AM
Love TSS2 Dual Stage Temp Controller neo82087 Brew Stands 7 01-28-2010 11:07 PM
dual stage temp controller for 2 freezers? rcrabb22 Equipment/Sanitation 6 04-02-2009 08:21 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS