Which controller should I buy

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TimWeber

Reaction score
Now that my fermentaion chamber is done, I've started work on my pilot system. I am slowly gathering parts to make an electric RIMS and I am trying to decide which controller to purchase.

I've considered multiple ON-Off and PID controllers, but eventually I want this system to operate almost completly autonomously. Seems I should make the investment now in the correct controller. Side note, I am a mechanical engineer and am not a wiz at PCBs, or circuits.

The two options I am considering at the moment are the BCS-460, and the Unitronics vision350 (used on brew-magic).

I was wondering if anyone had any insight or suggestions on these two controllers, or maybe a different type.

Thanks.

I have an existing Brewery that I am in the midst of automating. You can look in my gallery for a picture of it if you wish. I have just gotten started building the control panel which will house the controller and I/O. I have decided to base the automation on the Brewtroller which is based on the Anduino/Sanguino Micro-Computer. I chose the Brewtroller because it has three PID functions, control for 11 pumps/valves, 4 temperature inputs utilizing the DS18B20 temperature sensor and 3 inputs for the Motorola MPXM2010GS pressure sensor for volume measurement. I have started to document the build in this thread: https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/i-cant-leave-well-enough-alone-149206/ There are a few process control experts here and I am sure they will help if you need it. Best of luck with the build.