Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Cleaners (keg, carboy, lines, etc) > DIY Carboy / Corny Keg / hopefully Sanke Keg Washer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-09-2013, 04:32 AM   #1
bracehelton
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Default DIY Carboy / Corny Keg / hopefully Sanke Keg Washer

As can be imagined by the title. I am very confident in my ability to build a washer capable of taking on a carboy or Pepsi keg. I'm just not sure if it will work in a Sanke keg. Likely it will require the spear to be removed. I might be able to accomplish building a set up where you could leave it in but visually verifying that the contents are cleaned will be impossible. I am a Quality Control inspector by trade and therefore the lack of ability to inspect the post cleaning condition doesn't sit well. My main question is, would anyone have any interest in me posting my process with a very thorough listing of my parts used (names of parts, where I bought them and how much $) ? I have seen a few build and they just kinda say "3/4 PVC and 1/4" hose barb". That's lame to me, I have found a few parts that make the build pretty neat, I'm just waiting on everything I ordered to be delivered. So... Any interest?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-09-2013, 04:37 AM   #2
crosamich
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 5

I would love to see that. I am a dairy scientist so I feel you on the inspection. When I was brewing on the pilot plant in grad school I had a rigged setup for cleaning sankes involving soaking, upside down kegs, sanke tap w/valve removed and just kind of went with it.

Old 05-09-2013, 05:11 AM   #3
bracehelton
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts