Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Wire gauge
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-04-2011, 04:12 PM   #1
stokems
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 165
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Wire gauge

For my rims I have a 1500w element. I was wondering if a 16/3 wire is the right gauge to safely wire it?
Thanks guys, MJ

__________________
stokems is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 04:13 PM   #2
stokems
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 165
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

The amperage is 13 as well

__________________
stokems is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 04:26 PM   #3
Bernie Brewer
Grouchy Old Fart
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Bernie Brewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Eldorado, WI
Posts: 7,539
Liked 118 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

No. You need a 20 amp circuit, so you need #12.

__________________
I like to squeeze the nickle until the buffalo craps-mt rob

"Why don't we get drunk and screw?" Jimmy Buffett
Bernie Brewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 04:33 PM   #4
emit31
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nipomo, CA
Posts: 36
Default

yep, 12 AWG for that bad boy. Make sure you have it plugged into a 20 amp circuit too.

__________________
emit31 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 04:41 PM   #5
stokems
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 165
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Thanks Bern. Guess I'll have to exchange the cord.

__________________
stokems is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 05:01 PM   #6
itsme6582
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 813
Liked 22 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default

Here's a nice wire gauge calculator

http://www.csgnetwork.com/wiresizecalc.html

__________________
itsme6582 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 05:13 PM   #7
stokems
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 165
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

This was what I thought would work. Wrong answer.

image-3874533576.jpg  
__________________
stokems is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 07:24 PM   #8
microbusbrewery
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
microbusbrewery's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,185
Liked 93 Times on 72 Posts
Likes Given: 46

Default

As two of the previous posts mentioned, you also want to make sure you use a 20 amp circuit. Electricians, please correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe you don't want to exceed about 80% of your amperage rating, so that would be around 16 amps on a 20 amp circuit. Just something to keep in mind in case you have additional things plugged in on the same circuit.

I have a HERMS using two 1500 watt elements (one in heat exchanger, one in HLT) each plugged into a dedicated circuit. The only 12 AWG cords I could find at Lowe's were the ones intended for window AC units. I can't remember how much I paid, but I want to say they were around $12 each.

__________________
microbusbrewery is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 08:58 PM   #9
stokems
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 165
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

So another question. I found a spool of 12/2 that has a copper ground in it(should that make it 12/3) 600 volts. It's romex wire. Will this be capable? I know, I know.....electric noob.

__________________
stokems is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 09:02 PM   #10
hillhousesawdustco
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
hillhousesawdustco's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: up near babb, mt
Posts: 648
Liked 35 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Default

12/2 INCLUDES the copper ground. 12/3 will have a red wire that is generally used as an extra hot wire for a total of 4 wires (white, black, red, bare copper or green)

__________________
hillhousesawdustco is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools




Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS