Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > What to use for control box on E-brewery build

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2009, 08:03 PM   #31
Ohio-Ed
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts

First and foremost... I am not an expert on this subject.

But, my thoughts are that if you have a box that will allow moisture in, like around a switch or other device (maybe a fan), then you are better off with some kind of weep hole in the bottom of the box. In other words... if it is possible for water to get in, better to make a way for it to get out safely than have your box fill up with water. I would also try to protect the weep hole from allowing water to enter.

I'd like to hear an experts opinion.

Ed

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2009, 09:25 PM   #32
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 33 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohio-Ed View Post
First and foremost... I am not an expert on this subject.

But, my thoughts are that if you have a box that will allow moisture in, like around a switch or other device (maybe a fan), then you are better off with some kind of weep hole in the bottom of the box. In other words... if it is possible for water to get in, better to make a way for it to get out safely than have your box fill up with water. I would also try to protect the weep hole from allowing water to enter.

I'd like to hear an experts opinion.

Ed
Our nema 3 boxes have beveled weep holes in the bottom.

If the box is going to mounted below the brewery I don't see a problem with a Nema 4 box modified underneath. It will technically be Nema 3 but the front and sides will be protected from forceful water entry. Just keep it off the ground. It is better than nothing.