Last week to Enter the Spike Brewing 20 Gallon Sight Glass Kettle Giveaway!



Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > What are the hose-switching steps of a Brutus-10 brewday?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-24-2010, 08:15 PM   #1
wuertele
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
wuertele's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Menlo Park
Posts: 134
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default What are the hose-switching steps of a Brutus-10 brewday?

I have a question for you Brutus-10 users. Maybe Brutus-20 too, I don't really know the difference. I don't own a Brutus, I'm just trying to picture the actual operation with regard to plumbing configurations.

I see that there are two pumps on a Brutus-10. The outputs are hoses stuck through two lids. The lids are moved around to change the pumps' outputs. The inputs are connected to hoses terminated in QDs. The QD ends are moved around to change the pumps' inputs.

I am curious to know the "choreography" of a Brutus brew day in detail, including any setup and cleaning steps. Can someone run me through it? I think it is something like this (I'm skipping steps that don't have anything to do with reconfiguring the plumbing):

  1. get mash-in water: Connect hose1 QD to municipal water supply, put lid1 on top of MT. Fill MT with water.
  2. get sparge water: Connect hose2 QD to municipal water supply, put lid2 on top of HLT. Fill HLT with water.
  3. RIMS: Connect hose1 QD to MT outlet, put lid1 on top of MT. Start recirculating.
  4. sparge: Move lid1 to BK, move lid2 to MT. Sparge it.
  5. boil: remove lid1 from BK. Boil it.
  6. open chill: Connect hose2 QD to BK outlet, connect therminator input to pump2 out, connect lid2 QD to therminator output, put lid2 on BK, connect municipal water to Therminator chill in, connect Therminator chill out to drain. Chill it.
  7. recirc chill: connect hose1 to HLT outlet, connect Therminator chill in to pump1 out, connect Therminator chill out to lid1, put lid1 on HLT. Chill it again.
  8. cleaning steps: Need some help here.
Can anyone give me more detail?
Thanks!
Dave
__________________
wuertele is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2010, 08:32 PM   #2
Simphoto02
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 451
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

It is almost better to get it straight from Lonnie himself. We all use his basic configuration but adapt it a bit for our needs

http://www.alenuts.com

For me, I do not switch ANY hoses except the HLT hoses when it becomes the chiller for the Thermonator.

__________________

HOOKED!!!!!!!!!!!!

Got tired of waiting for our savior to save the economy, so I jumped into all grain, What the hell!!!

Simphoto02 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2010, 08:33 PM   #3
Simphoto02
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 451
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

http://www.alenuts.com/Alenuts/videos.html

Best part of the videos is when he ACTS like he is enjoying a LoneStar beer. Should have been in Hollywood, nobody can act that good.
__________________

HOOKED!!!!!!!!!!!!

Got tired of waiting for our savior to save the economy, so I jumped into all grain, What the hell!!!

Simphoto02 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2010, 09:34 PM   #4
JonW
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JonW's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntington Beach ☼
Posts: 1,520
Liked 109 Times on 69 Posts
Likes Given: 50

Default

I don't switch any hoses at all on my Brutus clone - all the way into the fermenter with no hose swaps - everything is accomplished by valves.

Like Simphoto says, you need to adapt the basic config to your own needs. You can get as simple or complicated as you'd like. Think more about the process you want to follow and that will dictate the hose/fluid movements you will need to make. From there you can think about extra valves, pumps, etc. to make the brew day process flow how you like.

__________________
JonW is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2010, 10:28 PM   #5
wuertele
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
wuertele's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Menlo Park
Posts: 134
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonW View Post
I don't switch any hoses at all on my Brutus clone - all the way into the fermenter with no hose swaps - everything is accomplished by valves.

Like Simphoto says, you need to adapt the basic config to your own needs. You can get as simple or complicated as you'd like. Think more about the process you want to follow and that will dictate the hose/fluid movements you will need to make. From there you can think about extra valves, pumps, etc. to make the brew day process flow how you like.
I've looked at the photos on alenuts, and I see QDs, not valves. Why do you call your system a Brutus clone if your plumbing is completely different?
__________________
wuertele is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2010, 10:52 PM   #6
Simphoto02
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 451
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wuertele View Post
I've looked at the photos on alenuts, and I see QDs, not valves. Why do you call your system a Brutus clone if your plumbing is completely different?
Watch the videos. There are two valves on both of the pumps and a valve on all of the kettles. Lonnie, like all of us, uses the valves on the pumps to regulate the fluid flow. There are 4 or 5 videos there that go through the entire brew day for Lonnie. Watch the videos then come on here and call us liars.

Sorry, I had a Bad day.

They are all plumbed basically the same. Like I said all have slight variances for each particular situation
__________________

HOOKED!!!!!!!!!!!!

Got tired of waiting for our savior to save the economy, so I jumped into all grain, What the hell!!!

Simphoto02 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2010, 10:53 PM   #7
JonW
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JonW's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntington Beach ☼
Posts: 1,520
Liked 109 Times on 69 Posts
Likes Given: 50

Default

It's the stand that makes it a clone, not your hoses and disconnects. I have a single tier, 3 burner stand like many others. I use pumps to move liquid back and forth between vessels and to fly sparge - it's not completely different.

I use QD's on all the hoses, but I also use valves to direct the liquid from one vessel to another or to start/stop the flow of liquid or to simply throttle the flow of liquid. Many of the stands you see in the alenuts photos do this as well. I just happen to use additional valves as diverters so that I can keep my plumbing connected and not shuffle hoses around.

A quick warning about the hose connections you have listed. You show hose 1 & 2 being connected to the municipal water supply. Be careful if you are using a valve to turn the flow on/off. Most of the high temp hoses we use for plumbing our rigs are not capable of running at the pressures created by your municipal water system. You will easily burst a hose if you leave it pressurized.

If you haven't done so already, you should use some type of drawing program (I use Visio) to outline your connections and the way things will flow. I've built two different stands and went through many iterations on both of them before coming up with my final setup (is it ever really final?).

__________________
JonW is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2010, 11:15 PM   #8
Lonnie Mac
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bacliff, TX
Posts: 326
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default

These fellas got it all right. You will adapt to fit your needs. Watch my cheezy videos if you will. It will explain most of what you are looking for. I am working on a DVD I will post when I am done and go into much more detail, but that is a ways off.

Um, Lone Star. Actually it is a dang dang good standby!

__________________

Lonnie Mac...
President of the Brutus Ten cult!

Lonnie Mac is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2010, 11:43 PM   #9
Simphoto02
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 451
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonnie Mac View Post
These fellas got it all right. You will adapt to fit your needs. Watch my cheezy videos if you will. It will explain most of what you are looking for. I am working on a DVD I will post when I am done and go into much more detail, but that is a ways off.

Um, Lone Star. Actually it is a dang dang good standby!
Hey, Quick, Somebody call the police!!!! Someone is using Lonnie's login and HBT.com account.

Lone Star GOOD!?!?!?!?!?
__________________

HOOKED!!!!!!!!!!!!

Got tired of waiting for our savior to save the economy, so I jumped into all grain, What the hell!!!

Simphoto02 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Brutus" Thread - Show us your Brutus! frolf Brew Stands 67 10-13-2010 04:32 PM
To Brutus, or not to Brutus. That is the question... ubermick Brew Stands 30 08-04-2010 01:45 AM
First few steps in automation NoNothing Brew Stands 22 05-11-2010 04:43 PM
Switching power between elements/PIDs possible? Rhino17 Brew Stands 47 05-14-2009 02:10 PM
Switching Over to All Grain. What to do? CABeerMaker Other 10 04-08-2009 06:24 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS