Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Temperature probe connection
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2012, 05:34 PM   #1
bbarr21
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Fuquay-Varina, NC
Posts: 85
Liked 6 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Temperature probe connection

Am looking to have a temperature probe connection on my brutus system so that. Can easily disconnect the probes when not in use.
I have seen some people use phono connections to do this but I have no idea how to do this... Any help/insight would be awesome

__________________

Brewing Gadgeteer
Brian

bbarr21 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2012, 05:38 PM   #2
Adeering
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sherwood, Arkansas
Posts: 685
Liked 46 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

theelectricbrewery.com has a wonderful tutorial on lots of different parts, they have a section for how they do the temp probes

__________________
Primary: None
Secondary: None
Bottle Conditioning/Carbonating: Apple Pie
Kegged: None :(
Bottled: None
Next Brews: Pumpkin Ale, Unknown
Adeering is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2012, 05:43 PM   #3
Airplanedoc
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Airplanedoc's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Illinois, Outside the peoples Republic of Madigan
Posts: 1,862
Liked 367 Times on 257 Posts
Likes Given: 109

Default

I used 3 pin XLR connectors. Which is what electric brewery uses. you just solder the wires on the back and you are good to go. Search Ebay or Amazon, I believe mine was less than $10 for both male and female sides including shipping.

__________________
Airplanedoc is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2012, 08:51 PM   #4
bbarr21
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Fuquay-Varina, NC
Posts: 85
Liked 6 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

My probe only has 2 wires not sure why need the 3 pin, I like the good clean look of the connection though, would it be possible to use the 1/4 in phono plug?

__________________

Brewing Gadgeteer
Brian

bbarr21 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2012, 09:05 PM   #5
Airplanedoc
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Airplanedoc's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Illinois, Outside the peoples Republic of Madigan
Posts: 1,862
Liked 367 Times on 257 Posts
Likes Given: 109

Default

So dont hook anything up to the third pin

__________________
Airplanedoc is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2012, 09:34 PM   #6
bbarr21
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Fuquay-Varina, NC
Posts: 85
Liked 6 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

But why not just use the cheaper mono phone plug?

__________________

Brewing Gadgeteer
Brian

bbarr21 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2012, 09:51 PM   #7
MalFet
/bɪər nərd/
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
MalFet's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NYC / Kathmandu
Posts: 8,277
Liked 1270 Times on 845 Posts
Likes Given: 584

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbarr21 View Post
Am looking to have a temperature probe connection on my brutus system so that. Can easily disconnect the probes when not in use.
I have seen some people use phono connections to do this but I have no idea how to do this... Any help/insight would be awesome
What kind of help are you looking for?

The 3.5mm minijack plugs that you buy unscrew and generally present two different wire solder points (three for stereo). Take your wire lead, cut it, solder one side to the male and the other to the female, and you're done!
__________________

"Be excellent to each other." -Benjamin Franklin

MalFet is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2012, 10:02 PM   #8
Erroneous
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Posts: 596
Liked 29 Times on 25 Posts

Default

I use stereo plugs for my fridge temp controller. Uses 3 wires anyway for 5v, ground, and data. But that is a digital sensor. You could use whatever you want for connectors since it is low current. Whatever you have access to or think looks best.

__________________
Erroneous is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2012, 10:23 PM   #9
bbarr21
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Fuquay-Varina, NC
Posts: 85
Liked 6 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Do any of y'all have pictures of your plugs?

__________________

Brewing Gadgeteer
Brian

bbarr21 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2012, 10:31 PM   #10
MalFet
/bɪər nərd/
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
MalFet's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NYC / Kathmandu
Posts: 8,277
Liked 1270 Times on 845 Posts
Likes Given: 584

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbarr21 View Post
Do any of y'all have pictures of your plugs?
Like this?
http://www.amazon.com/3-5mm-Stereo-A...rds=3.5mm+plug
__________________

"Be excellent to each other." -Benjamin Franklin

MalFet is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools




Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS