Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > STC-1000+ PI (the mash control firmware)
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2014, 09:41 AM   #61
HansEinar
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 24
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Is it possible to give I and P more weight? Done some testing and end up with 999 and 99 (3-4l flow, 20kg, 2500w)

__________________
HansEinar is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2014, 11:18 AM   #62
alphaomega
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: , Sweden
Posts: 462
Liked 183 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 153

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HansEinar View Post
Is it possible to give I and P more weight? Done some testing and end up with 999 and 99 (3-4l flow, 20kg, 2500w)
It is absolutely possible. I've been fiddling with these, trying to come up with a good trade off. I've put them where 'good' settings are in the lower half for my test setup, which admittedly will probably not reflect a 'real' setup in the slightest (a peltier plate, with pretty fast heating and pretty slow cooling). But it is better to err on the safe side.
By my calculations, if you use 999 / 99, the control should be pretty fast for the intent, but I'd more than willing to change this if empirical data shows otherwise

The 'weight' will in this case need to be a multiple of 2, so I'd need to halve it. That is no problem, to do though. I'll try to do that as soon as I can (tonight if at all possible). I'll let you know. If at all possible I'd like the full range to be usable (i.e. be able to cover as many possible setups as possible). It is better to err on the safe side though (even if your system won't react as fast as it could be).

Have you have done actual testing? That is used the hardware to control actual mash temp? In that case I'd be very interested to hear all and any experiences! Does it work for you otherwise? I'd love to see a picture of or just a description of the setup you use. All feedback could be helpful in making this firmware better

You say 3-4 L flow, that is per minute I assume? I does seem like a little much to me (but I really don't know), if your setup permits it (i.e. it does not compact the bed), then that might be fine.

Thank you for your interest and feedback!!!
alphaomega is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2014, 12:51 PM   #63
mojonojo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: london, uk
Posts: 4
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Ive just ordered a STC1000 for the express purpose of testing, might solve a number of my issues for a lot cheaper than it would have been

__________________
mojonojo is offline
2
People Like This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2014, 09:06 AM   #64
HansEinar
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 24
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Done some real test with water. My setup give overshot regardless of P and I settings. It seems that the power is 100% until set-point is passed. Someone else got that experience?

__________________
HansEinar is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2014, 05:51 AM   #65
ICUR12
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 8
Default new firmware

When uploading the newest version ta couple hours ago it seems we may have fried 2 different units. Question: when the sketch checks for the presence of the stc1000, does it know if there is a connection of all 3 pins; dat, clr, & clk? My suspicion is that we had a bad solder joint on one of these but it tried to program anyway. I only ask because the new version just got posted.

__________________
ICUR12 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2014, 08:26 AM   #66
alphaomega
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: , Sweden
Posts: 462
Liked 183 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 153

Default

You haven't 'fried' the units, the program upload may have failed, but with all probability you can try again and get them working.
Now to your question, yes, it 'knows'. When it checks for presence, it reads the device ID of the chip and checks for match. For the communication to work, all pins are needed.

alphaomega is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2014, 12:48 AM   #67
ICUR12
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 8
Default new firmware

Ok, I loaded the new firmware successfully on 2 more stc's and they seem fine. I will attempt to do the same to the stc's that didn't take. They had a blank screen after attempting so I was thinking I fried them. Also, the upload said it was unsuccessful. I will let you know if I get them 'fixed'

On another note, would you advise the + version of firmware, or the pi version for use on a simple sparge water tun? I wanted to use a flashed stc so it read in fahrenheit, but I don't need the temp profiles.

__________________
ICUR12 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2014, 05:57 AM   #68
alphaomega
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: , Sweden
Posts: 462
Liked 183 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 153

Default

The PI version is still in beta. And for maintaining HLT temp, I'd say stick with the regular STC-1000+ for now.

__________________
STC-1000+ (improved STC-1000 firmware for fermentation)
My dirt cheap RIMS heater
alphaomega is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-23-2014, 09:03 AM   #69
alphaomega
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: , Sweden
Posts: 462
Liked 183 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 153

Default

Ok, I thought I'd give an update on what is happening.
I've made a pretty big push the last few weeks. Had a talk with a control PhD student from my old uni, and he suggested adding the D-part back as the system response of heating liquid approaches a double integrator. So, I did that and I have also started work on a separate firmware to autotune the PID parameters.
It is still very much a work in progress, basic functionality is pretty much there, but there are still some kinks to work out and probably some fine tuning of the parameters. Also I haven't tested the fahrenheit version at all yet.

__________________
STC-1000+ (improved STC-1000 firmware for fermentation)
My dirt cheap RIMS heater
alphaomega is offline
2
People Like This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2014, 09:38 AM   #70
weetabixface
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Default

Nice piece of work, interested in making use of this in RIMS application and more than willing to pitch in

Having a look through the code can see in a few places where you are latching the relays low in one of the alarm conditions, can't for the life of me see where they are latched during temperature control

W

__________________
weetabixface is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FT: STC 1000 W/custom firmware ISO Banjo Burner pointcity-homebrew Want to Trade Forum 0 08-04-2014 06:09 PM
STC-1000 Control enclosure cmoewes Fermenters 9 04-23-2014 08:45 PM
has anyone bought this Temp control? non stc-1000 yewtah-brewha Fermenters 11 07-10-2013 02:46 PM
STC 1000 temp control - looking for help Pelican521 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 8 05-20-2013 04:34 PM
Stc-1000 temp control instead of love control omega3 Automated Brewing Forum 22 04-21-2013 11:29 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS