Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > PID to control 2 120v Elements?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2009, 06:19 PM   #1
Cpt_Kirks
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lakeland TN
Posts: 3,740
Liked 45 Times on 39 Posts

Default PID to control 2 120v Elements?

I am making a foam lid for my 10 gallon HLT. It will have two elbow plumbing fixtures, with 2000 watt 120v water heater elements in each. Each element will connect to a seperate 20 amp circuit w/GFCI.

At first, I am going to control the elements manually, just turn them off and on as needed to keep the temp steady.

Later, I would like to use a PID to handle this (a brewery is never done).

Can a PID control 2 seperate SSR's, with each SSR controlling one of the water heater elements?

I would like to just go 240v, but recent events have led me to beleive my panel won't support the extra current draw.

__________________
Cpt_Kirks is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2009, 06:21 PM   #2
The Pol
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11,774
Liked 75 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

If you are asking, can a SINGLE PID switch TWO SSR's at the SAME time, sure. I dont see why not, you will just have to split the signal.

OR you could use ONE SSRD and get the same effect.

__________________
The Pol is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2009, 10:41 PM   #3
Cpt_Kirks
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lakeland TN
Posts: 3,740
Liked 45 Times on 39 Posts

Default

Is there a "suggested equipment list" for PID's and SSR's?

__________________
Cpt_Kirks is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2009, 01:45 AM   #4
The Pol
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11,774
Liked 75 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

Suggested? Like the PID and SSR type?

PID Model SYL-2352 from Auber
SSR Model RS1A40D25 ... in your case you can get away with a 25A for a single element

__________________
The Pol is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2009, 01:54 AM   #5
lamarguy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,657
Liked 23 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt_Kirks View Post
I would like to just go 240v, but recent events have led me to believe my panel won't support the extra current draw.
Just so we're all on the same page...

4000w / 120v = 33 amps

4000w / 240v = 17 amps
__________________
Doggfather Brewery

Planned: Lambic, American IPA
Fermenting: 6 gals of 1.090 stout (Belgian) & 6 gals of 1.090 stout (English)
Tapped: Berliner Weisse, Black English IPA, German Pils, & Live Oak Primus
lamarguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2009, 03:52 AM   #6
The Pol
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11,774
Liked 75 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

I think he is maybe referring more to adding circuits... as he is going to use 2 already existing circuits, I think?

__________________
The Pol is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2009, 04:15 AM   #7
XXguy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 1,120
Liked 16 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Default

Wouldn't it make sense to just have a single element on the PID, and manually control the 2nd element for bringing things up to strike temp or boil - then just turn off the manually controlled element & allow the PID to maintain fine control ?

I'm considering a setup like that for an indoor system.

__________________
XXguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2009, 05:34 AM   #8
lamarguy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,657
Liked 23 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Pol View Post
I think he is maybe referring more to adding circuits... as he is going to use 2 already existing circuits, I think?
Ya, I would assume that's what he meant. But, if his panel and existing (20 amp?) circuits are nearly maxed out, he'll certainly pop the breakers pulling 17+ amps per circuit at peak power.
__________________
Doggfather Brewery

Planned: Lambic, American IPA
Fermenting: 6 gals of 1.090 stout (Belgian) & 6 gals of 1.090 stout (English)
Tapped: Berliner Weisse, Black English IPA, German Pils, & Live Oak Primus
lamarguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2009, 07:08 PM   #9
Cpt_Kirks
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lakeland TN
Posts: 3,740
Liked 45 Times on 39 Posts

Default

I'm using two existing 20 amp circuits. I can add a 240v 30 amp GFCI breaker, but I think that will exceed the max for the panel.

__________________
Cpt_Kirks is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
120v HLT arturo7 Kettles, Mash Tuns, & Hot Liquor Tanks 14 01-16-2010 08:01 AM
For Sale - March Pump 809 120v sigpi906 For Sale 3 12-04-2009 04:28 PM
120V element for HLT?? Pez Kettles, Mash Tuns, & Hot Liquor Tanks 13 04-15-2009 01:45 AM
Are there any tmp controllers that can control 2 elements SSRider Equipment/Sanitation 6 12-13-2008 01:54 AM
120v RockfordWhite Brew Stands 26 02-03-2008 03:18 AM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS