Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Material advice for brutus!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2013, 10:22 PM   #1
HeavyMTLbronco
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Default Material advice for brutus!

So I've been drooling over Lonnie McAllisters plans for a brutus 10 ever since I started brewing out of keggles and an opportunity came about to get this sucker built today. I'm flying to So. Cal over Christmas and showed the plans to my dad as a project we could do while I was there. Long story short my dad used to work for FMF back in the day and is an experienced welder and all around tinkerer and jumped all over the idea.

I plan to build the brutus basically to the plan spec (aside from the gas tube) and freight the sucker back to Idaho. Heres where it gets interesting, his neighbor owns some massive materials company in Orange county and can get us material at cost, and will lend us all the materials needed for the build that my dad doesnt already have. However, he thought of using aluminum rather than stainless. Is there any reason that aluminum shouldn't be used for a brutus stand? I read through various forums where stainless or standard steel are used but didnt see much regarding aluminum. I figure it would be just as strong, and significantly lighter.. any thoughts? I'll certainly make sure to document the build when we do it! -nostrovia!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2013, 10:33 PM   #2
duboman
Recipes 

Liked 502 Times on 464 Posts
Likes Given: 226

As long as it will support the weight and take the heat from the burners I can't see why you couldn't use aluminum.