Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Gas Valve/Control Setup
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-05-2013, 04:03 PM   #1
autobaun70
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
autobaun70's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 476
Liked 31 Times on 20 Posts

Default Gas Valve/Control Setup

I am working on setting up an automated MLT, using a basic brutus 10 design, and have a few questions about the electronics.

I will only be controlling 1 burner for now, but may automate the HLT later on. I am looking at the Auber SYL-1512A controller. It lists the input voltage at 85V A/C - 260V A/C, and the output voltage at 240V AC. Is the output voltage a constant 240V, or does it replicate the input voltage? Also, can I just run that directly into a transformer, and control a honeywell gas valve (24V A/C), or do I need to tie the controller to a relay, and keep the 24V a/c transformer switched from there?

__________________
autobaun70 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2013, 04:58 PM   #2
day_trippr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stow, MA
Posts: 11,190
Liked 1380 Times on 1115 Posts

Default

Like pretty much all controllers, there is a rating for the input voltage used by the device itself, and then there are one or more ratings for the voltages it can switch or otherwise control.

So "85V A/C - 260V A/C" is the operating voltage - what the device needs for itself to function - and "output voltage at 240V AC" is the max voltage rating for the relay output.

If you want to control a 24vac device (solenoid, for instance) you'll need to provide a separate transformer to wire through the SIL output relay and on to the device.

The manual is pretty thorough on your options...

Cheers!

__________________
day_trippr is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2013, 06:03 PM   #3
autobaun70
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
autobaun70's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 476
Liked 31 Times on 20 Posts

Default

So assuming I am running the controller on 115v ac what voltage will the relay output be?

__________________
autobaun70 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2013, 06:58 PM   #4
rekoob
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
rekoob's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,164
Liked 72 Times on 61 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

The same as the input.
Check the manual, I think on mine I can use 115VAC to power the PID and I can put another source to the input that would also be the output. So in your case it could be 24VAC.

__________________

Reason: add info
rekoob is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2013, 01:07 AM   #5
autobaun70
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
autobaun70's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 476
Liked 31 Times on 20 Posts

Default

Ok, I was finally able to get a good enough connection to get the PDF downloaded. Best I can tell, you can switch up to 3 amps of any voltage (a/c) that you wish. Looking at it, you can use a jumper and use the voltage that you are running the controller off of, or feed a different voltage to it and switch that, which is my plan. I went ahead and ordered a contactor just in case that doesn't work, as they were only 8.95 and I a sure I can reuse it elsewhere if it isn't needed for this project.

I ended up ordering the 1/16 DIN rather than the 1/32 DIN just for the extra display line.

__________________
autobaun70 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2013, 01:56 AM   #6
day_trippr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stow, MA
Posts: 11,190
Liked 1380 Times on 1115 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by autobaun70 View Post
So assuming I am running the controller on 115v ac what voltage will the relay output be?
Whatever voltage you connect to the output relay....

Cheers!
__________________
day_trippr is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale - Pilot valve setup, 10-tip jet burners fastev For Sale 7 08-24-2012 06:33 PM
For Sale - Looking for a spunding valve setup for pressurized fermentation Thundercougarfalconbird For Sale 0 07-29-2012 01:51 AM
Three-way air valve for N2 setup? fuzzybee Bottling/Kegging 6 06-17-2011 02:25 AM
NEED HELP - PID and gas valve setup for Brutus 10 jsocha389 Brew Stands 8 09-15-2009 10:08 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS