HBT 2015 Big Giveaway - Enter Now

Huge Supporting Membership Discounts - 20% Off

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Control panel main power switch...what are you using?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-11-2010, 11:11 PM   #1
Ranger9913
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nashville
Posts: 299
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default Control panel main power switch...what are you using?

I have my control panel and most of my components, just waiting on my SSR's from China. My design has my control panel plugging into my 60A disconnect box using a 240V 50A 4 prong plug. I also have the breaker for an power on/off switch. However, I've been wanting a MAIN power switch on my control panel but I don't believe they make a 50-60A 220V switch. Just curious to what some of you are doing?

I was thinking of using two 30A 220V light switches to control the 110 side L1, and the L2 coming in the control panel.

__________________
Ranger9913 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2010, 11:27 PM   #2
ClaudiusB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,307
Liked 66 Times on 56 Posts
Likes Given: 128

Default

Quote:
However, I've been wanting a MAIN power switch on my control panel but I don't believe they make a 50-60A 220V switch. Just curious to what some of you are doing?
Automation direct sells them up to 600V
http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/...z-_Disconnects

Similar type I use made by A-B.


Cheers,
ClaudiusB
ClaudiusB is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2010, 12:15 AM   #3
LooyvilleLarry
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Louisville,KY
Posts: 988
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Holy bejesus Claudis, is it easy to find?

I use the 50Amp Spa GFI breaker.

__________________
Primary
Orange Cascade Pale Ale -

Secondary

Kegged
BeeCave Haus Ale - 6%
Bells Two Hearted, round 2- 6.1%
SNPA Clone (Chilled )
Hard Lemonade

Shiraz - 6 gal
LooyvilleLarry is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2010, 01:27 AM   #4
diatonic
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 721
Liked 12 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

I picked up a Square D 30A 300V relay. Apply 120 to the coil to close the switch, and it can deliver 30A @ 300V on 2 poles. Looks like this:

__________________

.:diatonic:.
1° - Nada
2° - Saison inspired mead (6/27/2014) - Sack mead (7/26/2014)
Kegged - Dopplebock (1/22/2015) - Black Widow Kolsch (1/31/2015) - Pious New World (2/6/2015)
My brew rig is pretty much done :)
You should follow me on Twitter - My Brew Logs

diatonic is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2010, 02:24 PM   #5
MrShake
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,199
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Yea, your best bet is a 120v capable switch and a contactor just like above. I've got an E-Stop switch wired like that and its nice to have that protection.

__________________

MrShake - Top Hat Brewery

Project Links: Electric HERMS | Wet Bar

Primary - Air
On Commercial Tap - Sam Adam's Octoberfest
On Tap 2 - Air
On Tap 3 - Air
On Tap 4 - Easy English Mild
On Tap 5 - Air

MrShake is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2010, 02:35 PM   #6
Ranger9913
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nashville
Posts: 299
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Would the above be 30A 300v per pole or 30A 300 total. I need at least a 50A 240v.

__________________
Ranger9913 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2010, 04:20 PM   #7
diatonic
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 721
Liked 12 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

I'd suggest going to a local electrical supply shop and they should be able to get you what you need. They them you need a 'Normally Open Definite Purpose Contactor' that can handle 50A 250V on 2 poles, with a 120VAC coil voltage (or whatever type of voltage you plan to have available to actuate the coil) I think it would be easier to mount than a switch that could handle that, and you get the satisfying 'clunk' when you actuate it

EDIT: The one I purchased above cost me $25 at a local supply shop, though I see them selling for $40-$75 online.

__________________

.:diatonic:.
1° - Nada
2° - Saison inspired mead (6/27/2014) - Sack mead (7/26/2014)
Kegged - Dopplebock (1/22/2015) - Black Widow Kolsch (1/31/2015) - Pious New World (2/6/2015)
My brew rig is pretty much done :)
You should follow me on Twitter - My Brew Logs

diatonic is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Control Panel airbalancer Brew Stands 68 04-16-2010 08:22 PM
Control Panel Power Distribution illin8 Brew Stands 19 03-03-2010 08:54 PM
control panel power distribution paledragon Brew Stands 2 02-06-2010 08:14 PM
New Control Panel p-nut Brew Stands 16 01-26-2010 11:41 AM
rotary switch for ac power? tkone Other 8 12-12-2009 09:10 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS