Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > BCS Panel Wiring..so little idea what Im doing

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2010, 05:58 AM   #1
SurferMatt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default BCS Panel Wiring..so little idea what Im doing

What I'm currently trying to do is control fermentation temps on six individual tanks. To do that I have immersion chillers in each tank. Chilled glycol will be supplied by a constantly running glycol pump with a leader line. Each tank gets supplied from a solenoid valve opened by the BCS 462 controller. I recently scored six ssr's off ebay but am not sure of how to properly wire this unit or even power it. I'm very new to this stuff and have explored the site quite a bit but I could really use some help. Can somebody please share some information on wiring ssr's/solenoid valves/BCS/power supplies?
Thanks for all the help.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 06:06 AM   #2
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 55 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 29

What is the power requirement for the solenoid valves?

Basically the SSR acts as a switch. The BCS puts out 5 volts or so, so if your solenoid requires more than that you can use the SSR's you bought. Hopefully you got the correct ones to control the power needed. Hard to give you precise wiring until we know what you have exactly. The BCS website forum has some diagrams and info from people who have wired BCS set ups.

The BCS comes with a wall wort transformer, plug it in and it should power up.

Old 08-09-2010, 12:45 PM   #3
SurferMatt
Recipes 

The solenoid valves were not purchased yet but I intend to buy from this ebay store. http://shop.ebay.com/valves4projects...&_trksid=p3686
The SSRs are this model. http://parts.digikey.com/1/parts/759...rt-240d10.html