Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Aquarium RIMS Controller? Am I On Crack?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-20-2010, 03:37 AM   #1
jasonsbeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 417
Liked 23 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default Aquarium RIMS Controller? Am I On Crack?

OK, so, we've all seen the Aquarium Temp Controller thread.

Now, I poked around the specs for the STC-100 temp controller. It claims 10A max @ 220v. This is 2200 watts. Lets say this thing is capable of handling an 80% constant load. That would be 1760 watts. Am I on crack to think that this would be 16 amps @ 110v? The same as a Love controller? Can this be possible, a replacement for a Love controller at 1/2 the price? If so, I would love to try this on my upcoming RIMS build with a 1500 watt heating element.

I would like to hear some feedback from others that have used this controller and gather other opinions before I purchase this thing and turn it into molten plastic. I'm hoping my Sunday night math is correct. There are also controllers that claim 20A max on the cooling side. I wonder about those?

__________________

There are a terrible lot of lies going around the world, and the worst of it is half of them are true.

Winston Churchill

jasonsbeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2010, 04:14 PM   #2
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,236
Liked 89 Times on 79 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

You generally don't want to try and read between the lines on the specs for electrical components.

If the thing says it can handle 10A and 250V, then it probably means exactly that.

It can handle up to 10A. Period.

It can handle up to 250V. Period.

Using a voltage lower than 250V does not necessarily mean that it can handle more than 10A. Likewise, running less than 10A through it does not mean that it can handle more than 250V.

__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2010, 04:25 PM   #3
Sawdustguy
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manorville, New York
Posts: 2,772
Liked 29 Times on 25 Posts

Default

Like Walker said, 10 amps max is 10 amps max no matter what the voltage.

__________________

Guy

Sawdustguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2010, 11:35 PM   #4
jasonsbeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 417
Liked 23 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

DOH! Too good to be true.

Thanks

__________________

There are a terrible lot of lies going around the world, and the worst of it is half of them are true.

Winston Churchill

jasonsbeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2010, 07:19 PM   #5
Rip
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento, California, Kalifornia
Posts: 109
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Quote:
...10 amps max is 10 amps max no matter what the voltage
Saaay what?
Wattage / Voltage = Amperage

10 Amps @ 250v = 2500 watts
20 Amps @ 120v = 2500 watts
...Same load, different voltages.


Maybe the correct question would be: "what is the actual rating for the 110v model?" - that I don't know! [I think you're talking about the STC-1000 by the way, STC-100 is 12v DC model]

(If you house burns down don't blame me...I'm not a certified electrical engineer)

- M
__________________
Rip is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2010, 07:25 PM   #6
MacBruver
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 616
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

One other thing to consider is that it's not really designed for cycling an element on and off as fast as a PID does. A PID with an SSR has the ability to "throttle" a heating element down by using a cycle time of 1 second or so. I highly doubt the aquarium controller could do that.

__________________
Primary:
Secondary: Bee Cave Robust Porter (with coconut)
Kegged: Cascade/Citra Amber Ale
MacBruver is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2010, 08:39 PM   #7
camiller
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,883
Liked 29 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

No one seems to have addresses the OPs second question?

__________________
In Nebraska? Nebraska Brewers Group
My Club OmaHops Homebrew Club

Put yourself on the Homebrewers Map see the forum thread

My ridiculously easy stir plate buildMy Kegerator
camiller is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2010, 08:48 PM   #8
MacBruver
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 616
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

It is a replacement for a Love controller at an incredibly cheap price... but even a Love controller is not suitable for a RIMS. You just can't cycle the element on and off fast enough with a mechanical relay.

__________________
Primary:
Secondary: Bee Cave Robust Porter (with coconut)
Kegged: Cascade/Citra Amber Ale
MacBruver is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ebay aquarium temp controller build android Fermenters 4112 Yesterday 03:51 PM
To RIMS or not to RIMS...that is the question. Dgonza9 Brew Stands 12 08-24-2010 11:01 PM
Fermentation freezer with aquarium controller. Paramecium Fermenters 5 08-17-2010 04:23 PM
PID Temperature Controller Wiring Problems - RIMS Newfie_Brewer Brew Stands 0 02-24-2010 02:17 AM
fixing crack on bottom of pot Comos Kettles, Mash Tuns, & Hot Liquor Tanks 10 12-15-2007 08:35 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS