Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > adventures in welding stainless

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-17-2009, 10:30 PM   #1
jonp9576
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default adventures in welding stainless

i've been using a stick welder for a few years here and there. i am not good, but not terrible.

the other day we got a mig welder. oh man is this thing fun and easy. i used it to finish up me brew rig.

then i decided i want to try some stainless so some day i can get my sweet conical fermenter project under way.

this was the mess that happened.

after burning through trying to weld 2 pieces together i just tried laying a nice bead down on one piece. i think i am getting the hang of it. a little

comments?
tips?
different things to try?

On Tap:warrior apa
On Tap: crystal light
On Tap:BM's centenial blonde
"Just remember that the real enemy here are those wine drinking pussies."-BierMuncher

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-17-2009, 10:45 PM   #2
beerthirty
big beers turn my gears
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 27 Times on 12 Posts

I've never welded Stainless but if I were to comment as a mild steel weld, I would say too much feed or to slow travel. From what I can see it looks like the edges bonded so the temp is probably correct.
I would stay away from welding tubing until you become proficient because you cant get to the inside for cleaning.

primary- Tangerine Dream, SWMBO slayer,
serving- amber ale hop experiment #6, Roggenbier, apfelwine
planning- Cru?
conditioning- 9/9/09 barleywine
Drink water?... Never, fish fornicate in it.--- W.C. Fields
Most problems can be solved with the proper application of force.

Old 04-17-2009, 11:19 PM   #3
Brewers Hardware
Sponsor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Yeah, looks like you're laying down a lot of filler.