Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Which 240v receptacle???
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-18-2010, 09:22 PM   #1
wildwest450
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9,099
Liked 166 Times on 151 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default Which 240v receptacle???

Good grief, I didn't realize there was 10 choices. 3 wire, 4 wire( I assume I want one of these?), 30amp, 50amp, endless choices! I do want one that will go into a box(recessed in wall), I don't want a giant tumor hanging off the wall. And my shopping choices are limited to Lowe's, unless there's an online source.

What say you, electric brew genies?

__________________
wildwest450 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2010, 09:59 PM   #2
Henrythe9th
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Redmond OR, Oregon
Posts: 327
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

4 wire 50 amp drier style,, even if your only going to 3 wires its cheaper than a 3 wire 50 amp welding socket and plug,, and you can put a common in it for a 240 gfi

__________________
Henrythe9th is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2010, 10:57 PM   #3
Stickshaker
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 190
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Henrythe9th View Post
4 wire 50 amp drier style,, even if your only going to 3 wires its cheaper than a 3 wire 50 amp welding socket and plug,, and you can put a common in it for a 240 gfi
There is no such thing as a 50 amp dryer style. Dryers are 30 amps, ranges and welders are 50 amps. I'd suggest a 50 amp range (4 wire) plug and receptacle. And its not a common, its a neutral or grounded conductor.
__________________
Stickshaker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2010, 10:58 PM   #4
Stickshaker
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 190
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Sorry if that sounded douchebaggish, I was just trying to clarify...

__________________
Stickshaker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2010, 11:11 PM   #5
Budzu
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 793
Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts

Default

You need to figure how much current you'll need and if you need 110v included. What are the components you'll be powering? Specifically heating elements.
I have 2 twistloc 30amp 3 wire outlets that I don't need.

__________________
Countertop Brutus Budzu-style

Budzu is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2010, 11:26 PM   #6
SweetSounds
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,429
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

50 Amp 4-Wire plug mounted and ready for drywall (And the panel that feeds it...)



Left to right - Hot 1, Neutral, Hot 2, with the ground at the bottom in the middle...

It's not wired to the panel yet. I'm waiting until next weekend after I have the main feed trenched over from the house

The panel:

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecnerwal View Post
What does the primary pressure gauge on the tank tell us? That's right, the temperature. Put it on a scale if you want to know how much is in it...
Put some duct tape over the gauge - Or better yet - Replace the high pressure gauge with a plug - High pressure gauges are useless!

SweetSounds is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2010, 12:10 AM   #7
Stickshaker
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 190
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetSounds View Post
50 Amp 4-Wire plug mounted and ready for drywall (And the panel that feeds it...)
If you take the receptacle back out, and replace the raised cover with a 2 gang mud ring before you drywall, you can mount it flush with a regular plate and it will look much cleaner...
__________________
Stickshaker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2010, 12:15 AM   #8
SweetSounds
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,429
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stickshaker View Post
If you take the receptacle back out, and replace the raised cover with a 2 gang mud ring before you drywall, you can mount it flush with a regular plate and it will look much cleaner...
I'll have to find one of those

Thanks!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecnerwal View Post
What does the primary pressure gauge on the tank tell us? That's right, the temperature. Put it on a scale if you want to know how much is in it...
Put some duct tape over the gauge - Or better yet - Replace the high pressure gauge with a plug - High pressure gauges are useless!
SweetSounds is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2010, 04:32 AM   #9
wildwest450
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9,099
Liked 166 Times on 151 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Budzu View Post
You need to figure how much current you'll need and if you need 110v included. What are the components you'll be powering? Specifically heating elements.
I have 2 twistloc 30amp 3 wire outlets that I don't need.
Ok, i'm confused. I have the capability of running two 30 amp circuits. Or a 40 and a 30 amp. Which ever. btw, i'm smashed. my badz
__________________
wildwest450 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2010, 04:55 AM   #10
Budzu
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 793
Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts

Default

No worries, just wondering what your power needs are going to be. If you'll run electric element or elements and pump or pumps, what wattage etc. You'll probably want all of your components to run off a single gfci breaker.

__________________
Countertop Brutus Budzu-style
Budzu is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ranco wiring 240V beer_master Brew Stands 4 07-04-2011 01:27 PM
For Sale - 2 240v 30 amp twistloc outlets Budzu For Sale 0 03-17-2010 01:04 AM
My simple two receptacle all grain build GC89 Brew Stands 97 12-04-2009 09:56 PM
3 Pos 240v Switch illin8 Brew Stands 8 05-20-2009 03:07 AM
New House & 240V illin8 Equipment/Sanitation 16 05-07-2009 03:39 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS