Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Kegerators and Keezers > Wiring help... single stage ebay temp controller
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-21-2012, 12:49 PM   #1
Flaviking
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida
Posts: 143
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default Wiring help... single stage ebay temp controller

So I found a F calibrated single stage ebay temp controller on ebay and it just arrived yesterday. being the total noob that I am, I have no idea how to wire this thing. I was thinking I could wire the temp controller directly to the compressor in my fermentation chamber as the fridge I took it out of already a temp controller of some kind.

The original setup has a grey wire coming from the power cord, which I assume is hot, then a white wire that came from the old fridge temp controller into the compressor, then a Brown wire that came from the compressor back to the power cord.

Seemed like a pretty simple closed loop. so I was I was thinking I should do this:

temp_control_diag.jpg




RED = Positive/Hot
Blue = Neutral
Black = Temp probe

The red (grey) would come from the pwer cord into the temp controller, the blue (white) would eventually come out of the temp controller and go into the compressor, the brown would remain as is and go from the compressor back to the power cord.


If thats incorrect, if you could let me know what to do that would be awesome... If that is correct, Im not sure where to ground this thing... there is a green wire coming from the power cord itself and the compressor already has a ground wire from it to the base of the compressor... Shoudl I just screw down the green wire coming from the power cord to the wood? does wood work as a ground?

As you can see.. I need some serious help Thanks in advance for your time and knowledge.

__________________
Flaviking is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2012, 03:31 PM   #2
Flaviking
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida
Posts: 143
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

bump

__________________
Flaviking is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2012, 04:03 PM   #3
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 803
Liked 64 Times on 57 Posts
Likes Given: 108

Default

From your diagram, it appears that the controller is powered at 1&2 and the relay is at 6&7. If that is not correct than you must adjust accordingly.

Identify hot and neutral from the power cord first. These will provide 110v to your controller at 1&2. It doesn't really matter which one is connected to which terminal.

Power cord hot is jumpered over to one terminal of the relay, again it doesn't matter which but let's specify #6.

Based on your description: The white wire from the original controller to the compressor is the hot to the compressor and the brown wire is the neutral to the compressor. The white wire would attach to the other relay terminal, #7. The brown wire from the compressor remains attached to the neutral of the power cord.

No. Wood is NOT a good ground. There is no ground requirement for the controller. Just make sure that the power cord ground is attached to the chassis and use a GFCI outlet or circuit.

__________________
raouliii is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2012, 04:11 PM   #4
Flaviking
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida
Posts: 143
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Thank you.. that helps a lot...

I neglected to mention however that this has a function control..

Here is the exact diagram form the instruction sheet i got (which is very limited)

temp_control_diag_v2.jpg


Does the function control require anything? or should I just not wory about that?

__________________
Flaviking is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2012, 04:16 PM   #5
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 803
Liked 64 Times on 57 Posts
Likes Given: 108

Default

Don't worry about the function control, leave it with no connection. It has to do with locking in settings and can be ignored.

I have adjusted my earlier post to reflect the relay terminals as 6 & 7.

__________________
raouliii is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2012, 04:24 PM   #6
Flaviking
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida
Posts: 143
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raouliii View Post
Don't worry about the function control, leave it with no connection. It has to do with locking in settings and can be ignored.

I have adjusted my earlier post to reflect the relay terminals as 6 & 7.
Does this look about right?

temp_control_diag_v3.jpg



Red = hot
Blue= neutral
Brown = Existing Neutral from Compressor
green = Ground
Black= tcmp probe
__________________
Flaviking is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2012, 04:32 PM   #7
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 803
Liked 64 Times on 57 Posts
Likes Given: 108

Default

That looks good.

Good luck.

__________________
raouliii is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2012, 11:45 PM   #8
JuanMoore
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JuanMoore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The Old Pueblo
Posts: 16,955
Liked 3238 Times on 3139 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flaviking View Post
Thank you.. that helps a lot...

I neglected to mention however that this has a function control..

Does the function control require anything? or should I just not wory about that?
The function control simply locks in the programmed settings if you run a jumper between those terminals. Unless you're worried someone might come along and change your temp settings, don't mess with it.
__________________
Keezer Soze

Yuri rubs it out with 60 grit... wouldn't even feel a tenga egg. -Randar

, place entry ox dixla to suck. Fcxk fwnpoo and passed. Hel an my spupid ass. OK. - TXCrash
JuanMoore is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2012, 02:28 AM   #9
Flaviking
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida
Posts: 143
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Thank you everyone for your input...

I just ran into a problem.. A big one...

I changed around the way i wired this thing to use a GFCI outlet to power both a fan and the compressor.

temp_control_diag_v4.jpg


The system was chuging along pretty well.. started off at 91 degrees.. got it down to 75 in about 25 minutes... the temp controller then shut it off.

I programmed a delay of 1 minute and set the temp again to 68 to see if I could get it down to a good temperature..

I went back out 5 minutes later and the temp was 77... Checked the compressor and it was off and hot.. not scalding hot.. but hot enough were you didn't want to keep your hand on it for too long... the GFCI outlet i had wired in did not trip, the fan on the inside of the chamber was still going, just the compressor shut down on me...

Do you think i blew the compressor? or blew a fuze in the compressor? Any ideas on what could have happend? you think i just overworked it?

this really sucks.. was trying to have this built for family brewing tomorrow... any help or advice would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

UPDATE: I unplugged the compressor and let it cool for about an hour and a half... plugged it back in to test and it works... thinking maybe the ambient temperature of my garage is too high (91 degrees) and the compressor was working way to hard... I'll have to move it inside tomorrow (house is at 76) and test it again...

Please let me know though if the wiring looks off though, or you think there may be some other problem.

Thanks again everyone!!!!

__________________
Flaviking is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2012, 01:03 PM   #10
Flaviking
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida
Posts: 143
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Bump

__________________
Flaviking is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Stage Wiring Help lonepalm Fermenters 4 06-13-2012 06:33 PM
Question for those that have a single stage temp controller G-Hog Brew Stands 0 03-21-2012 05:05 PM
Turning a single stage temp controller into two stage dmfa200 Other 8 03-13-2012 04:24 PM
Trouble wiring my ebay temp controller BigPatBrewer Kegerators and Keezers 14 11-04-2011 05:52 PM
Help Wiring a Ranco Single Stage Rusty18 Kegerators and Keezers 8 03-28-2011 06:26 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS