Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Kegerators and Keezers > Can I build a half-barrel system for under $2000?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2011, 08:12 AM   #1
B0rnFrustr8ed
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Can I build a half-barrel system for under $2000?

I am new to brewing, having only made a handful of batches with the extract kit / partial brew / bucket system, and I plan to continue learning and doing this for a while, eventually moving to partial mash and then full mash. Meanwhile, in the medium term (6-12 months, or sooner if possible), I'd like to put together a half-barrel brewing system to eventually use to fill my full-size kegerator (15 gallon). I have spent about 20 hours over the past week scouring this forum and using google-foo trying to gather as much knowledge as I can about such a system.

I'm not the most handy person, but I have a couple of friends with construction and welding experience who will help me (as long as I pay them in beer).

What I need help with is itemizing and pricing all of the things I will need. And if anyone has made step-by-step instructions for this, please point me in the right direction. If it can't be done for that price ($2000), what should I shoot for?

Would a kettle of this size work:
http://www.amazon.com/King-Kooker-80...743484&sr=8-11

Will this burner throw enough heat:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=ATVPDKIKX0DER

Where can I get a container large enough to ferment 15 gallons?

Etc... etc...

Any and all advice is welcome. I realize this probably sounds a little too ambitious for such a n00b, but I've really caught the brewing bug and I am committed to making a medium investment in time and money to the hobby. If I get enough positive feedback and I think I can put the project together, I will post my progress here.

Thanks.