Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > Yeast inactive?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2012, 02:03 PM   #1
TW1Kell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Yeast inactive?

This is my first attempt at wine-making, tho I have been beer brewing for a few months, now. I followed a recipe for peach wine and everything went fine for about 2 weeks. I pitched to my secondary, and the airlock was popping about every 2 seconds, letting a nice bubble up. After 2 days of this, it started getting really foamy and filled the airlock full of foam. I used a straw to remove enough of the foamy mess to have the liquid back to the "fill line" on the airlock, and all was well for another 2 days. At that point, it all stopped. Nothing. No foam, no bubbles, just sediment settling down in the wine. Is this normal? I don't see any activity, at all.

I used 2.5 pounds of peaches, 7 pints of water, pectin, acid blend,etc., all of the goodies listed in the recipe, and a full package of yeast, as came with my kit and as advised in the recipe book that came with it. If this is just normal, fine, but I am concerned as it's my 1st attempt and I have no knowledge to draw from. Thanks for any insight.

The Fox

I plan to slide in sideways, all scarred-up, fall off of my old Shovelhead 74 or Flathead 45 and holler, "Woo-hoo! Thanks for the ride!"

Cooper's Lawnmower Lager: Mixed 4 Feb
Cooper's Irish Stout: Bottled 5 Feb
Coopers' Lawnmower Lager: Bottled 15 Jan (only a few left)

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-29-2012, 03:39 PM   #2
DoctorCAD
Recipes 

Liked 40 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 1

SG???????

Airlock activity is NOT a viable way to determine yeast activity.

Old 03-30-2012, 09:17 AM   #3
TW1Kell
Recipes 

So...you think I'm still ok? I haven't a clue to what's going on in that carboy. hahaha SG measurements?

The Fox