The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > winemaking mistakes?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2010, 10:09 PM   #1
dusty1025
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 14 Times on 4 Posts

Default winemaking mistakes?

First of all great site and thanks for all of the info. I've learned many things since i first started lurking here.

I'm just getting started and I'm currently collecting my hardware bit by bit.

My question is based on the fact that i've never actually tasted a decent homemade wine. All home brewed wine that i'm familiar with tastes like rocket fuel flavored with fruit flavored syrup. It is usually highly alcoholic and way too sweet. I opened a 4 year old blueberry wine given to me for christmas last year with the same experience.

i'm looking for the light crisp dry/semi-dry taste like a reisling or pinot grigio
how do i get that crisp clean taste and avoid the heavy alcohol burn.

Are there common mistakes i can avoid that can prevent me from brewing rocket fuel flavored fruit syrup?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2010, 10:14 PM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4202 Times on 3059 Posts
Likes Given: 779

Quote:
Originally Posted by dusty1025 View Post
First of all great site and thanks for all of the info. I've learned many things since i first started lurking here.

I'm just getting started and I'm currently collecting my hardware bit by bit.

My question is based on the fact that i've never actually tasted a decent homemade wine. All home brewed wine that i'm familiar with tastes like rocket fuel flavored with fruit flavored syrup. It is usually highly alcoholic and way too sweet. I opened a 4 year old blueberry wine given to me for christmas last year with the same experience.

i'm looking for the light crisp dry/semi-dry taste like a reisling or pinot grigio