Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > White wine - am I supposed to shake the carboy during fermentation?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2010, 06:33 AM   #1
brewew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default White wine - am I supposed to shake the carboy during fermentation?

Hi !

I've been making white wine from a concentrate, and it is currently fermenting (2-3 weeks left).

This concentrate came with a pretty akward user guide, and my question is this:

Am I supposed to give the carboy a good shake several times a day during the fermentation? Or do I let it sit still?

This may be a stupid question, and if so, pardon my ignorance..

Thanks!

BR. Jon

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2010, 01:23 PM   #2
raspberries
Recipes 

yeast dont like vibrations, dont shake.

im new to this as well, so maybe there is some shaking method I am not aware of?

Old 11-17-2010, 01:25 PM   #3
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4273 Times on 3113 Posts
Likes Given: 820

Sometimes the instructions ask you to stir during the first couple of days, but not usually. In primary, it's fine to have it exposed to air as long as it's covered so that fruitflies and the like can't get to it. After the first few days, it's important to keep it airlocked and not splash/shake/stir so that you don't aerate it. Oxygen will ruin wine after fermentation slows.

Old 11-17-2010, 03:12 PM   #4
CampFireWine
Recipes