Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > When to use Campden Tablets
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-29-2008, 06:07 PM   #1
pbdist
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Default When to use Campden Tablets

Hello,


I am making 15 gallons merlot and 15 gallons pinot grigio.
I have been reading alot of different posts about campden tablets.
I was wondering when should I use Campden Tablets. After the first racking, the second, or right before bottling?
I justed racked the merlot yesterday and I amgoing to rack the pinot grigio on Thursday.
The place I bought the juice from gave no directions about adding any chemicals except the yeast at the beginning.

Thanks,
Bryan

__________________
pbdist is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-29-2008, 06:10 PM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Yooper's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gulf Coast, Winter Texan
Posts: 63,499
Liked 5159 Times on 3721 Posts
Likes Given: 1092

Default

If you have an so2 meter (I don't!), you want to keep the wine at 50 ppm or so. What I do is add one campden tablet per gallon when making the must, at every other racking, and at bottling. As near as I can tell from doing some online research, this should closely approximate that figure.

__________________
Broken Leg Brewery
Giving beer a leg to stand on since 2006

Find me on facebook: Lorena Evans
But I'm pretty boring so don't expect much!
https://www.facebook.com/lorena.t.evans
Yooper is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-30-2008, 09:58 PM   #3
KENfromMI
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 122
Default

I use one per gallon right before bottling, I crush and mix them in, wait 24hrs, de-gass with a paddle connected to my drill then bottle. I age all my juice for a year before bottling and have never had a problem with bacteria etc. I rack multiple times over the year and let it clear naturally as well. I just make sure I sanitize very well at each racking, Ken

__________________
KENfromMI is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-30-2008, 10:01 PM   #4
Mirilis
Lvl 10 Beer Nerd
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Mirilis's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Celina, Ohio
Posts: 1,505
Liked 38 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I usually only add campden tables when I make the must as well. I just wait for the yeasties to fall naturally and then rack them out. I dont want any more SO2 in my alcohol than I have to. Once it ferments the alcohol should be enough to kill any bacteria.

Mirilis is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Campden Tablets? NicotineRush Recipes/Ingredients 10 07-21-2012 06:11 PM
Campden tablets, how many? bull8042 General Techniques 4 08-29-2008 11:54 PM
Campden Tablets Phan71 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 10 08-12-2007 10:59 PM
campden tablets? jakith Wine Making Forum 4 01-13-2007 11:11 PM
Do i need to add campden tablets? nottsbrewer Cider Forum 3 01-06-2007 09:16 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS