Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > Sulphur smell

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2009, 11:13 PM   #1
seasonsofstrange
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Sulphur smell

Hi, this is my first time on the forum and my second adventure in brewing (first was a cider that turned out well). I decided to try a kind of unusual recipe I found for black tea wine (winemaking: requested recipes (Black Tea Wine)).

So, I pitched the yeast in the primary last night, the airlock was bubbling this morning, and when I came home after work today, it was going pretty furiously. I took a smell from my blow-off tube (I'm using a homemade airlock) and it has a STRONG bready, sulfur kind of smell. I'm using Red Star Montrachet yeast. I thought I sanitized everything well, but I'm worried I might have bacterial contamination. I saw some beer forums on the internet that said sulfur smells are normal during fermentation, but I also read something about how Hydrogen Sulfide can cause a rotten egg smell and ruin the wine. Should I be worried?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2009, 11:19 PM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4636 Times on 3367 Posts
Likes Given: 909

Quote:
Originally Posted by seasonsofstrange View Post
Hi, this is my first time on the forum and my second adventure in brewing (first was a cider that turned out well). I decided to try a kind of unusual recipe I found for black tea wine (winemaking: requested recipes (Black Tea Wine)).