Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > Strange looking Wine in Secondary?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-24-2008, 06:47 PM   #1
Níl_fhios_agam
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Strange looking Wine in Secondary?

Can someone take a look at the photo below and tell me does this look normal? I have quite a few brews under my belt now but never seen this with wine (I have with beer and its normal). This only started to happen after I moved from primary to secondary. Its almost like the yeast is only just proving and starting off.......any comments?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-24-2008, 07:08 PM   #2
ericd
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Hmm, it would help to know what kind of wine it is? The ubiquitous apfel variety perhaps?

Old 08-24-2008, 07:11 PM   #3
ms8miranda
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I'm just a beginner and can't answer your question but your post prompted a question from me. I've only begun learning about wine-making recently and have read so much info, I may be getting things jumbled up in my head. I thought you had to leave a 1-inch headspace in the secondary vessel...it doesn't look like you have so now I'm wondering during what part of the process should I leave a 1-inch headspace?

Old 08-24-2008, 07:25 PM   #4
Níl_fhios_agam
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericd View Post
Hmm, it would help to know what kind of wine it is? The ubiquitous apfel variety perhaps?
No, its just a standard Beaverdale Pinot Grigio kit. Nothing different from the many I have already made......thats what so strange?

Old 08-24-2008, 07:27 PM   #5
Níl_fhios_agam
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by ms8miranda View Post