Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > Question on 100 Gallon Limit

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-26-2011, 02:57 AM   #31
mightynintendo
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 98 Times on 82 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuri_Rage View Post
Please cite specific federal and/or state law that requires homebrewers to do so.
Begging yuri pardon, allow me to restate myself. It is not a LAW to keep records, but if you don't and you have on hand more than the limit for production, you would have no recourse to prove it wasn't all produced within the year.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-26-2011, 03:06 AM   #32
Yuri_Rage
Gritty.
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 607 Times on 376 Posts
Likes Given: 54

With whom does the burden of proof lie if your production is questioned?

I'm no lawyer, but... Under criminal law, I think that burden is on the prosecution. In civil court, I think it is on the plaintiff.

So, would I ever need to prove that my cellared brew was produced over a period of more than one year? Or is it simply enough that it's possible that it was produced over a period greater than a year?

I don't mean to be TOO nitpicky, but I find it hard to believe that I need to keep a logbook as a homebrewer for any reason other than my own satisfaction.

Old 08-26-2011, 03:12 AM   #33
mightynintendo
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 98 Times on 82 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuri_Rage
With whom does the burden of proof lie if your production is questioned?

I'm no lawyer, but... Under criminal law, I think that burden is on the prosecution. In civil court, I think it is on the plaintiff.

So, would I ever need to prove that my cellared brew was produced over a period of more than one year? Or is it simply enough that it's possible that it was produced over a period greater than a year?