New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > Plum Wine, Complete newb! Save me from myself!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2012, 09:26 PM   #21
DoubleRainbow
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I was also given two 5 gallons pales of plums and would like suggestions of yeast. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2012, 12:40 AM   #22
oldwinemaker
Recipes 

DoubleRainbow,
I've been making wine for 20 years and I never use yeast. All I use is sugar and water. NO CHEMICALS OR YEAST. I have made wine from Peaches, Raspberries, Blackberries, Plums and so on. For all the details on how I make it, send me a message or email and I'll tell you the exactly how I do it. The way I do it is too lengthly to put it here.

Old 09-15-2012, 04:15 AM   #23
dEMOiSEllE74
Recipes 

Here is a recipe I just finished doing. I am new to wine making, but after racking and clearing. It taste really good, and even better with a little back sweetening. I am bulk aging at the moment, before bottling. It's on the left.

Before you say anything, I know my temps are high. I currently can't help that. Working on making a fermentation chiller.

Recipe as follows:

6 gallon batch
30lbs Italian Prune/Stanley plums halved and de-stoned
45oz golden raisons
2tblsp mint
2tsp cloves
2 gallons of water
3tsp pectic enzyme
6 camden tablets

Plums were frozen for a week
Added camden + pectic enzyme at the same time.
Waited 24 hrs to pitch the yeast.
Starting ph 3.8 reduced to ph 3.1 with acid blend.
Starting gravity 1.100 at 87'
Racked to secondary at a gravity of 1.032 at 77'
Racked again .999 at 78'

Plums were put in a mesh bag and squeezed loosely at the beginning and must stirred to test ph. I aerated it daily and squeezed the bag to continue to break down the plums. My ph ended at 3.2. I used lalvin EC-1118 yeast.