Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > Open Fermentation Question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2010, 06:31 PM   #1
smyrnaquince
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 18 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Open Fermentation Question

I am new to all of this. So far I have started a couple of simple ciders, but that's it.

I am thinking about starting some mead and some fruit wine (both in 1-gallon batches) over the Christmas holiday. For the primary fermentation, can I use a stainless steel cooking pot with lid? Or do I need to use a primary fermenter with a tight lid and fermentation lock? My idea would be to use the pot for a week or so until the major bubbling ceases, then rack off into glass gallon jugs.

If I can use the SS pot and lid as a primary, how much is too much air space above the wort? I.e., for a 1-gallon batch, would a 2- or 3-gallon pot be too big?

Would it be OK to pour/decant out of the pot, or should I syphon?

Thanks,
Dave

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2010, 07:47 PM   #2
warispeace
Recipes 

Christmas is just over 2 weeks away. All of my wine takes at least 3 months to start to taste decent. You can try but I don't think that's near enough time.

Old 12-08-2010, 08:44 PM   #3
CampFireWine
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by smyrnaquince View Post
My idea would be to use the pot for a week or so until the major bubbling ceases, then rack off into glass gallon jugs.
I have always used the same principal as to allow off gases to escape and to ease the process of stirring during active fermentation (fast bubbling). I couldn't imagine doing it any other way.

Old 12-09-2010, 01:04 PM   #4
smyrnaquince
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by warispeace View Post
Christmas is just over 2 weeks away. All of my wine takes at least 3 months to start to taste decent. You can try but I don't think that's near enough time.