The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > New wine maker, question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2013, 07:24 PM   #1
RedL
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default New wine maker, question

I am new to wine making and fear I might have already messed up my first batch. I mistakenly used too little sanitizer when preparing my new plastic fermenting bucket and utensils. The package of Easy Clean called for 1 tablespoon per gallon of water, but I misread it and used 1 teaspoon per gallon resulting in a mixture 1/3 the strength of what it should be. My Welches White Grape Peach wine has now been fermenting 36 hours and is moving right along, but I don't know if it is contaminated or not.

What should I be looking for here? If it was going to go bad as a result of my error, would it do it right off the bat? I would appreciate any input, thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2013, 09:22 PM   #2
Kdog22
Recipes 

Liked 31 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 80

I'd bet money that you have will have zero issues. If the bucket was clean (and as you said new) and you used just that little bit of sanitizer, there should be no problems.

And good choice with the white grape peach. That is by far my favorite welches flavor to do. You will really like it.

Old 12-02-2013, 09:53 PM   #3
FlyinDan1017
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

And be sure you carb it up nice!!! Great recipe, just bottled a variant w/ half white grape peach and white cranberry peach.

Good luck!!!

Secondary: Coco-Strawberry Wine, Pumpkin Wine, Apple Cider

Bottled/Aging: Pear Wine, Strawberry Wine, Blueberry/Blackberry Wine, Mixed Berry Wine (Blueberry, Blackberry, Strawberry, Raspberry, & Cherry), Jalapeno Liquor, Skeeder Pee

Old 12-02-2013, 10:12 PM   #4
oogaboogachiefwalkingdeer
Recipes 

Liked 53 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 1