Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > Need some help....New WineMaker!!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2010, 01:35 AM   #1
tc08096
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Need some help....New WineMaker!!

Hi Everyone....This is my first post, lets see what kind of help I can get. I am brand new to winemaking, I just bought a wine kit so on and so forth...I am making a Cabernet from concentrate....The place where I bought it told me to add 5.5 lbs. of sugar, I did that and some. My hydrometer reading on the first night was 1.007 with an alcohol content of 9%, my understanding is that it should be higher, 24 hours later, right now, my wine is fermenting well with a bunch of foam on the top and air bubbles are starting to escape from my water lock and my reading is 1.006 starting to lower which means my process has begun....My question is, should I add more sugar to raise my levels to where most books say 11-12% alcohol or should I trust what the guy said and go with it...I dont want just Grape Juice.....Please advise ASAP! Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2010, 02:13 AM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4636 Times on 3367 Posts
Likes Given: 909

At 1.007, I'm certain your reading was wrong. It's fermenting now, so I'd suggest waiting a bit.

The hydrometers you get usually go from .990 to 1.120 or so. Maybe the reading was really 1.070? Or 1.107? The decimal points are tricky, but you'll get better with practice! (I'm nearly certain that your OG was 1.070). The potential alcohol scale (the 9% you mentioned) really isn't all that useful, but can give you an idea of the potential alcohol that you may have. I like to glance at it to ensure enough alcohol to preserve the wine, but that's about all it's good for. Use the SG scale that gave you the 1.070 reading.