Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > My very first batch of wine. It is a prune wine.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2013, 03:54 PM   #1
chelm
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Default My very first batch of wine. It is a prune wine.

This is my first batch of wine I have every made. It is a prune wine that sg is .999. I know my corks are not all the way in. I have a double lever hand corker. I tested multiple corks and they all were the same.

image-2684053306.jpg   image-4232952516.jpg  
__________________
chelm is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2013, 05:16 PM   #2
DoctorCAD
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,074
Liked 56 Times on 51 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

You need to adjust the nut on the top of the corker. That is what sets the depth.

__________________

Just because something CAN ferment, does not mean it SHOULD be fermented.

DoctorCAD is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2013, 06:42 PM   #3
chelm
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Yes I adjusted the corker accordingly. However they still never went in all the way. I used #9 I might try #8 next time

__________________
chelm is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2013, 09:30 PM   #4
DoctorCAD
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,074
Liked 56 Times on 51 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chelm View Post
Yes I adjusted the corker accordingly. However they still never went in all the way. I used #9 I might try #8 next time
That won't help. The rod that pushes the cork in is what needs made longer by the adjusting nut.
__________________

Just because something CAN ferment, does not mean it SHOULD be fermented.

DoctorCAD is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2013, 11:28 PM   #5
ACbrewer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 1,553
Liked 95 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

did you soak the corks? or are they synthetic. I usually soak my corks in some sanatizer for 20 mins

__________________
ACbrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2013, 05:00 AM   #6
chelm
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Default

They are synthetic. I sterilized them then used that as lube.

__________________
chelm is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-03-2013, 04:26 PM   #7
oogaboogachiefwalkingdeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: , ok
Posts: 555
Liked 70 Times on 54 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Some bottles have a higher grip on the neck which means the corks won't go all the way in. Not all double levers are adjustable. Looks like you got enough cork in the neck to do the job.

__________________
oogaboogachiefwalkingdeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To prune (shoots) or not to prune - that is the question? gregdech Hops Growing 1 03-08-2012 08:21 PM
Prune Wine ? tynenrox HomeBrewTalk Announcements & Feedback 1 01-30-2012 08:56 PM
Has anyone made wine from Midwest's frozen wine grape musts? gingerdawg Wine Making Forum 4 08-29-2011 02:03 AM
Portland Oregon brewing and wine making group Annual Wine purchase wacko Oregon HomeBrew Forum 1 10-09-2010 01:39 AM
Plum Wine: Ring of white growth in carboy above wine etisdale Wine Making Forum 6 10-03-2009 07:20 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS