The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > Maple Wine

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-06-2009, 11:11 AM   #1
MKelly
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Maple Wine

Good morning all.
I am new to wine making, but have been making ciders for a while.

I have a question:
Has anyone ever made maple wine?
I just staretd a batch last week just to see. I produce about 5 gallon of maple syrup from my own trees every year. This year I boiled 80 something gallons of maple sap dow to get a sg of 1.09, added about 1 1/2 cups wildflower honey, yeast nutrient and lavin 1118 yeast. Its bubbling away like mad with a mild yeasty aroma.

Just have not seen any recipies for this and i am not sure if it is due to the cost, amount of labor involved or if the end product is nasty.(hoping its one of the first two not the last)

Any input would be great

Mark

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2009, 09:52 PM   #2
jkpq45
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Subscribed. Thought about doing this with bulk maple syrup from Sam's Club and maybe oak aging.

Old 04-09-2009, 04:34 AM   #3
GunnerMan
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Considering I love maple syrup, I bet and hope it comes out good. I read maple does not have a huge amount of fermentables in it so the honey was probably a good choice to raise the ABV a bit.

Primary : Honeybuns Weizen, Ode to Arthur(with partial sour)
Secondary:
Bottled: Cream of Three Crops, Hazed and Infused Clone
Planned: A green chile beer, I live in New Mexico gotta have the green chile beer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duckfoot View Post
Two days into my last batch made and the scent of the farts of a thousand rhinos is permeating the basement...

Life is good...

Old 09-09-2009, 09:36 AM   #4
kardijan
Recipes 

Default Maple Wine