Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > Man, I love Apfelwein

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-02-2012, 02:55 AM   #9821
tkirkm176
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

I have been aging 5 gallons of apfelwein for about 6 months. I have done a couple batches and left them dry, I found them to be to sour and dry for my taste.

For those of you that back sweeten out there, How do you personally do it? I plan on kegging so renewed fermentation is not an issue. Has anyone had success with apple juice concentrate, if so how many cans? Anybody use Wine conditioner?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-02-2012, 05:02 AM   #9822
Bilc16
Recipes 

My first batch of Edwort's recipe has been kegged for a few months and I have it carbed like my other brews. It's good but I just racked a 6g batch (same amount of sugar) that's been fermenting for 4 months. Tasted a little over some ice and it was amazing. My advice to anyone new to this is to be patient. Or do what I do and make two batches at a time. barn lower than 10and dryer is better (cut the amount of sugar down)

On Deck: 2xIPA
Primary: Apfelwein
Secondary: Oatmeal stout
Kegged: 5g Arrogant Bastard clone, Apfelwein, Belgian wit
Bottled: Oktoberfest, Australian sharaz

Old 06-02-2012, 02:04 PM   #9823
mastamind
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bilc16 View Post
My first batch of Edwort's recipe has been kegged for a few months and I have it carbed like my other brews. It's good but I just racked a 6g batch (same amount of sugar) that's been fermenting for 4 months. Tasted a little over some ice and it was amazing. My advice to anyone new to this is to be patient. Or do what I do and make two batches at a time. barn lower than 10and dryer is better (cut the amount of sugar down)