Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > Man, I love Apfelwein

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-22-2007, 09:28 PM   #901
Gambrinus
Don't let your meat loaf.
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by psujeep
Also is it OK to use a 6.5 carboy for 5 gallons, I have brew going to the 5 gallon this weekend. If not what would be the recipe for 6.5 gallons. Thanks for the help.

Keith
Yes... it's actually better in the sense that you won't make as much (if any) as a mess. The extra room gives your brew room to "grow".

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2007, 09:37 PM   #902
BierMuncher
...My Junk is Ugly...
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 613 Times on 355 Posts
Likes Given: 231

Quote:
I am going to brew this up this weekend. I am new to brewing and have my first beer in the secondary right now, bottling it tommorow. I would like to make a 5 gallon batch. When it's ready to bottle, no keg yet, I would like to make half original and half sweet and carbonated. How is the best way to to do this? Also is it OK to use a 6.5 carboy for 5 gallons, I have brew going to the 5 gallon this weekend. If not what would be the recipe for 6.5 gallons. Thanks for the help.

Keith
I always use my 6.5 gallon carboys as primaries. I sleep better at night knowing I won't have blow off. Stick with the 5 gallon recipe.

When you're ready to bottle, move the batch into your bottling bucket and bottle half. Then take about a 3/4 cup of water, add 1/2 cup of lactose (available at your HBS) along with about 1/3 cup of corn sugar and bring to boil. You can do all of this part before you begin the bottling process. Let the mix cool and stir gently into your last half of brew and continue bottling. Don't get any extra air into your mix by over stirring.