Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > Man, I love Apfelwein

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-28-2009, 06:10 PM   #4871
78kombi
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

ok PU! this stuff stinks when fermenting!!!! must be the red star montrachet. wife made me move it out into the storage room....

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2009, 06:39 PM   #4872
MikeBlick
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hegh View Post
I am not experienced with adding spices to anything, but my guess would be that you should add them at bottling time, since most spices have alcohol-soluble flavors that wouldn't come out otherwise; they'd probably sink to the bottom and get thrown out. Maybe someone else will know better, though.
I added 1 big cinnamon stick, 2 cloves, and 2 cardamon pods to my last batch in secondary and it sat on the spices for 2 months. When I bottled it had an overwhelming smell of cardamon and a slight spiced taste. 4 months later, I can't taste or smell the spices at all. That said, it still tastes great.

Old 04-28-2009, 07:41 PM   #4873
Beau815
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by 78kombi View Post
ok PU! this stuff stinks when fermenting!!!! must be the red star montrachet. wife made me move it out into the storage room....

stinks for a day or so... straight up farts... but when all is said and done you got yourself some great appy wine, or apple feeny if you will. Any which way you call it youre gonna wanna have some on hand for the hot summer days.

Old 04-28-2009, 11:40 PM   #4874
Nugu
Recipes 

At 43 days in primary I took my first sample. 0.999-1.000 FG and I chilled my hydro in a beer bottle to sample.

Chilled down and everything I tried the Apfelwein and the best I can describe it is almost soured apple flavored. Is this the normal taste? I found it to be almost undrinkable.