Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > Making home wine is dangerous...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2009, 12:44 PM   #1
Tonypr24
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default Making home wine is dangerous...

I am new to brewing at home...I went out and spent 300 dollars on all of my equipment to make wine at home. I was so exited about my new hobby that I could not wait to make my first batch. I got my first red wine fermenting right now but the more I read on the internet about home making wine the more I hear people saying how dangerous it is...they all talk about a bad wine that could kill you if you drink it. Now I am no so exited about my new passion, I am so paranoid about it. Is it true that a bad wine could get you really sick? How do I know if I have a contaminated wine? HELP!!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2009, 12:50 PM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4468 Times on 3252 Posts
Likes Given: 868

I think a bad wine that could kill you if you drank it is something like grappa that the old timers used to make. Winemaking is no more dangerous than cooking. Maybe less dangerous, since you're not heating anything that hot!

There is nothing in wine that will harm you- it might not always taste great if you don't sanitize your equipment properly, but it would not make you sick and definitely wouldn't kill you!

Old 01-08-2009, 01:17 PM   #3
LakeErieBrew
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

It's not dangerous. Relax, don't worry, and have a home wine.

I was a little nervous taking the first sip of my homemade wine too. You'll get over it.

Old 01-08-2009, 01:22 PM   #4
summersolstice
Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 16 Posts