New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > Looking for Mulberry Port recipe.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2009, 03:02 AM   #1
BeerRunner
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default Looking for Mulberry Port recipe.

The fortified type, not just lots of Mulberries.

I got 'em falling over my back yard. May as well use some of nature's bounty.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-26-2009, 06:51 PM   #2
Pogo
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Do you mean that they are already ripe this early in the year?

Pogo

Old 04-26-2009, 08:38 PM   #3
BeerRunner
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

They look ripe to me. The really dark ones are falling off the tree. They taste pretty sweet. I'm no Mulberry expert, though. (Not being a smart-aleck. This is the first Mulberry tree I've ever had)

Old 04-26-2009, 11:08 PM   #4
summersolstice
Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 16 Posts

I made some mead from mulberries two summers ago. They're sweet to eat but they didn't impart much flavor to the mead. They'll need some acid additions for sure.

Old 04-27-2009, 12:37 AM   #5
BeerRunner
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by summersolstice View Post
...They're sweet to eat but they didn't impart much flavor to the mead...
Darn. That kinda sucks.

Old 04-27-2009, 12:50 AM   #6
KingBrianI
Recipes 

Liked 71 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by summersolstice View Post
I made some mead from mulberries two summers ago. They're sweet to eat but they didn't impart much flavor to the mead. They'll need some acid additions for sure.
I'm guessing you used white mulberries? They are pretty much just sugar and water. The red and black varieties have significant acid and lots of flavor.

I'm too lazy and have too many beers going to keep updating this!

Old 04-27-2009, 01:41 AM   #7
Pogo
Recipes